Next Meeting: Nov. 20, 2017, Sioux Falls New Technology High School, 2205 N Career ., Sioux Falls, SD

South Dakota Board of Education Standards

Board Policy
Mission Statement
2018 Meeting Schedule
Meeting Archive
Rules Archive

Standards Public Hearing 11/20/2017
11/20/2017 Notice of public hearing-standards
South Dakota Standards Health Education, Oceti Sakowin Essential Understandings & Standards, Business Management & Administration, Capstone Courses, Government & Public Administration, Hospitality & Tourism, Marketing, Transportation, Distribution & Logistics, English Language Arts, and Math

Board Members:

Donald KirkegaardDonald A. Kirkegaard - President
Sturgis, SD

Donald Kirkegaard was appointed to the Board in December 2006. Kirkegaard has worked in K-12 education for 30 plus years and is currently superintendent of the Meade School District. He is a member of the School Administrators of South Dakota. Kirkegaard has been involved with the North Central Association at the local, state and national level. He received his B.S. Degree from South Dakota State University (SDSU), Brookings, and his M.S. Degree from Northern State University, Aberdeen. He continued his education at the University of South Dakota (USD), Vermillion, where he received an Educational Specialist Degree. His term expires Dec. 31, 2018.

Sue AguilarSusan Aguilar – Vice President
Sioux Falls, SD

Sue Aguilar, Sioux Falls, was appointed to the Board of Education in January 2016. She received her bachelor’s degree from the University of South Dakota, majoring in Political Science and Sociology. Sue began her professional career in New York, holding positions as a government bond trader, human resource executive, and social services administrator. In 1983 she returned to Sioux Falls. Since that time, she has held leadership positions with many community organizations. In 1997, Sue chaired the citizen lead organization that passed the Sioux Falls School District’s Capital Improvement Bond. Following this endeavor, she was elected to serve on the Sioux Falls School Board. Sue has served as executive director of the Helpline Center, interim director of the Alzheimer's Association and most recently interim director of the Family Visitation Center. In 2010 Sue was elected to a four year term to represent the citizens of the SE District on the Sioux Falls City Council, where she served as vice chair and chair of the Council. Susan’s term expires Dec. 31, 2019.

Glenna FoubergGlenna N. Fouberg
Aberdeen, SD

Glenna Fouberg, Aberdeen, was appointed to the Board in January 1998. Ms. Fouberg received her B.S. in secondary education from Northern State University in 1963, followed by her masters in education, specializing in guidance and counseling, from SDSU in 1968. Ms. Fouberg retired in 2002 after working in education for 37 years, teaching English for 25 years and directing an Alternative Learning Center for 12 years. Ms. Fouberg was named South Dakota Teacher of the Year in 1994. Her term expires Dec. 31, 2017.

no photo availableScott Herman
Mission, SD

Scott Herman was appointed to the Board in November 2015. Herman is a member of the Rosebud Sioux Tribe and has worked in education since the 1990s, serving for 13 years as a teacher and four as a principal. Herman has been involved in tribal education in numerous capacities, including home school coordinator, board member at St. Francis Indian School, and tribal education services coordinator. Herman served for nine years as a council member for the Rosebud Sioux Tribe and is currently the tribal vice-president. His term expires Dec. 31, 2020.

Kay SchallenkampKay Schallenkamp
Spearfish, SD

Kay Schallenkamp, Spearfish, was appointed to the Board June 2016.
Dr. Schallenkamp retired as the ninth President of Black Hills State University in June 2014 after over 40 years in higher education. Prior to her appointment at BHSU, she served as President of Emporia State University (Kansas), Provost at the University of Wisconsin-Whitewater, and at Chadron State College (Nebraska). Dr. Schallenkamp served on the Higher Learning Commission Board of Directors and participated in more than 30 site visits for accreditation reviews. She chaired the American Association of Colleges for Teacher Education (AACTE) Board of Directors and currently is a member of the Council for Accreditation of Education Programs (CAEP). Dr. Schallenkamp holds 3 degrees in Speech Pathology; a BS from Northern State University, MA from the University of South Dakota, and PhD from the University of Colorado. Her term expires in Dec. 31, 2020.

Gopal VyasGopal Vyas
Mitchell, SD

Gopal Vyas, Mitchell, was appointed to the Board in June 2016.
Vyas serves as the chairman of Tessier’s Inc., a premier mechanical contracting company specializing in HVAC, custom fabrication, service and environmental controls. Prior to moving to South Dakota, Vyas worked as an R &D engineer for a start-up and as a mechanical engineer in the greater Boston area. Vyas received his BSME in India, his masters in Mechanical Engineering from Ohio University and his MBA from Boston University. His term will expire Dec. 31, 2019.

Lori WagnerLori Wagner
Webster, SD

Lori Wagner, Webster, was appointed to the Board in February 2017. Lori began teaching high school mathematics in 1989, after receiving her B.S. in Education from Northern State University. She taught in Waubay, Roslyn and Webster before earning her M.S. in Education, Teaching and Learning, from NSU in 2016. She accepted her current position as Master Teacher of Mathematics with the NSU Center for Statewide E-Learning in 2016. Lori was a finalist for the 2013 Presidential Award for Excellence in Math and Science Teaching, named the 2014 ESA 1 Teacher of the Year and the 2017 SD Outstanding Math Teacher of the Year. Lori’s term will expire December 31, 2020.