Celebrating American Education Week
American Education Week is Nov. 13-19. Listen to a message from South Dakota’s Secretary of Education.

Outstanding educators recognized
Congratulations to Pat Moller, Mitchell, South Dakota’s 2012 Teacher of the Year, and Nicole Keegan, Rapid City, the state’s newest Milken Award winner!

Danielson pilot schools selected
Twelve districts have been chosen for the pilot to implement the new state standards for teaching, based on Charlotte Danielson’s Framework for Teaching.

The pilot districts are: Aberdeen, Brookings, Custer, Deuel (middle school only), Harrisburg, Kimball, McCook Central, Stanley County, Todd County, Wagner, Webster Area and White River.

The pilot districts will receive training and technical assistance from either East Dakota Educational Cooperative or TIE.

To learn more about this project, contact Deb Barnett or Lanette Johnston at the Department of Education.

Sign up to receive this newsletter!

Your email:


Inside the NCLB flexibility package
South Dakota is working on an application to apply for 10 flexibilities from No Child Left Behind. In exchange, the state must agree to address four key principles aimed at improving student achievement and increasing the quality of instruction.
2011 NAEP results: 4th grade reading scores sluggish, remaining scores above average
South Dakota’s 4th-grade reading scores on the 2011 National Assessment of Educational Progress were down two points from 2009, while the national averaged stayed steady.

Students make significant gains on AP exams
More South Dakota students are taking Advanced Placement exams and are performing better on those exams, according to a report recently released by the College Board.

South Dakota 2010 School Health Profiles now available
Coordinated School Health has released the 2010 School Health Profiles. Data from the profiles is useful for grant writing, planning purposes and in advocating for a healthier school environment.

School libraries: Moving forward in the 21st century
The South Dakota State Library is forming a statewide taskforce to formally and annually recognize school districts that have libraries that meet the characteristics of 21st century school libraries.

Districts receive EPSCoR grants for STEM projects
Ten South Dakota organizations will receive a total of $200,000 to enhance, expand and develop new opportunities in secondary career and technical education, specifically in the areas of Science, Technology, Engineering and Mathematics.