New on our YouTube channel
Deputy Secretary Mary Stadick Smith gives a brief synopsis of Governor Dennis Daugaardís proposals for education funding in FY14.

South Dakota represented on Nutrition Associationís National Board of Directors
South Dakota now has representation on the School Nutrition Associationís National Board of Directors. Brandon Valley School District Food Services Director Gay Anderson was voted in as the boardís Education Committee Chair during SNAís 2012 elections. For more information, visit the School Nutrition Association website.

Rapid City teacher presented with $25,000 Milken Award
Congratulations to Alayna Siemonsma! The fourth-grade teacher and literacy leader at South Park Elementary School in Rapid City received the surprise of a lifetime last month when she was presented with a Milken Family Foundation National Educator Award. The award, which comes with an unrestricted cash prize of $25,000, was bestowed upon her during a school assembly.

Sign up to receive this newsletter!

Your email:


Applications for Davis-Bahcall Scholarship, summer science program now open

High school seniors and college freshmen can now apply for Davis-Bahcall Scholarships and the chance to study next summer at the Sanford Underground Science and Engineering Laboratory in Lead, Princeton University in New Jersey, and overseas if funding allows.

Applications are available on the South Dakota Department of Educationís website. Up to 12 South Dakota students will receive scholarships. The deadline to apply is Jan. 15, 2013.

Select students will be invited to interview for the program at various locations in the state, and recipients will be announced by early March. Davis-Bahcall Scholarship recipients spend one month in the summer studying fields such as physics, engineering and geology, learning from distinguished professors from around the world.

In addition to the one-month summer study, scholarship recipients will have the opportunity to apply for pre-selected summer internships.

To be eligible for the scholarships, high school seniors or college freshmen must attend public or private high schools or postsecondary institutions in South Dakota. Home-school students also are eligible. Students must have a demonstrated interest in science and intend to pursue advanced degrees in math, science, engineering or technology.

The scholarships, which are funded by the 3M company and the South Dakota Space Grant Consortium, are named for renowned physicists Dr. Ray Davis and Dr. John Bahcall.

Contact the Department of Educationís Sam Shaw with any questions.