New on our YouTube channel
Deputy Secretary Mary Stadick Smith gives a brief synopsis of Governor Dennis Daugaardís proposals for education funding in FY14.

South Dakota represented on Nutrition Associationís National Board of Directors
South Dakota now has representation on the School Nutrition Associationís National Board of Directors. Brandon Valley School District Food Services Director Gay Anderson was voted in as the boardís Education Committee Chair during SNAís 2012 elections. For more information, visit the School Nutrition Association website.

Rapid City teacher presented with $25,000 Milken Award
Congratulations to Alayna Siemonsma! The fourth-grade teacher and literacy leader at South Park Elementary School in Rapid City received the surprise of a lifetime last month when she was presented with a Milken Family Foundation National Educator Award. The award, which comes with an unrestricted cash prize of $25,000, was bestowed upon her during a school assembly.

Sign up to receive this newsletter!

Your email:


Clean diesel grant applications due this month

Applications for the fifth round of funding under the South Dakota Clean Diesel Grant Program are due to the South Dakota Department of Environment and Natural Resources by Dec. 21.

The program provides funds to assist schools in purchasing new public school buses to replace old, high-emitting diesel school buses, and to equip in-use diesel school buses with exhaust control retrofit devices that significantly reduce toxic soot emissions. The primary goal of the program is to reduce school childrenís exposure to both fine particulate and smog-forming pollution.

There is no cost for the exhaust control retrofits. Eligibility for the retrofits includes any South Dakota public school district that directly provides transportation services. Total award per school district for a replacement bus will be approximately 25 percent of replacement cost and may be more depending on the number of successful applicants. Districts that have not received a replacement bus in previous rounds will have preference.

DENR intends to award funds to as many eligible applicants throughout the state as possible.

Click here for more information about the program, or contact the DENR Air Quality office at (605) 773-3151.