New Director of Assessment and Accountability on board
The Department of Education is excited to welcome its newest division director to the table. Abby Javurek-Humig took over the helm as Director of the Division of Assessment and Accountability last month. Javurek-Humig is a Pierre native, moving back to South Dakota from New Mexico, where she worked in postsecondary education.

Three South Dakota elementaries earn Blue Ribbon status
Congratulations to Groton Area Elementary, Parker Elementary and Wall Elementary! Those three schools recently earned Blue Ribbon status under a U.S. Department of Education program.
Click here to learn more.

Sign up to receive this newsletter!

Your email:


Order alternative format, Braille textbooks by Jan. 15

To assure delivery of alternative format textbooks by the beginning of the 2013-14 school year, textbook orders must be received by Jan. 15, 2013. Orders received after this date will still be accepted, but the Department of Education cannot assure delivery by the beginning of the school year.

As a courtesy to South Dakota schools, Pheasantland Industries does not accept orders from other states until after Jan. 15. South Dakota textbook orders received by Jan. 15 will receive top priority. South Dakota textbook orders received after Jan. 15 will be placed in the queue with orders from other states.

If you have questions about ordering alternative format textbooks, please contact Karen Duenwald, Educational Materials Coordinator with the South Dakota State Library at 800-423-6665.