DOE’s Director of Operations & Information gives an update on education-related bills

February is CTE month
Each February, students and teachers across South Dakota and the nation take time to recognize the value of career and technical education. As has become tradition in South Dakota, officers of the Career and Technical Student Organizations will visit the Capitol in Pierre next week to showcase CTE. >>>LEARN MORE

Legislature debates school sentinels, ESA funding
The 2013 legislative session is underway. Education committees have heard bills related to ESA funding (SB 76), and school sentinels, HB 1087. Click here to find the latest updates related to any 2013 billl, and for brief education-related updates, follow the South Dakota Department of Education on Twitter.

Sign up to receive this newsletter!

Your email:


Secretary describes DOE’s focus on student outcomes
In presentations to the House and Senate Education Committees last month, Secretary of Education Melody Schopp outlined the department’s focus on student outcomes.

Department to release District Readiness Tool
Common Core professional development – now what? The South Dakota Department of Education will be hosting a meeting for curriculum directors and principals on Feb. 7 in Fort Pierre to offer them a chance to interact with a draft Common Core District Readiness Tool.

Commission on Teaching and Learning launched
Educators from across South Dakota came together last month to look at the best strategies to support students and teachers in the classroom.

Nominations sought for Outstanding Biology Teacher Award
Nominations are now being accepted for the Outstanding Biology Teacher Award, which honors teachers of the life sciences.

Ten South Dakota teachers earn profession’s top honor
Ten South Dakota classroom teachers are among the nearly 4,980 elementary and secondary school teachers nationwide to achieve National Board Certification in 2012.

Nominations sought for School Resource Officer of the Year
Nominations are now being accepted for this year’s School Officer of the Year Award.