Ed Online Homepage

PD Events

Letter from the Secretary
SD Department of Education Aug. 2016  

vaccination New vaccination requirements begin in school year 2016-17
Beginning in school year 2016-17, the Tdap (Tetanus, Diphtheria, Pertussis) and MCV4 (Meningococcal ACYW) vaccines will be required for entry into the 6th grade. The change is a result of Senate Bill 28, passed by the 2016 Legislature. SB 28 adds meningococcal infection to the list of diseases specified in South Dakota Codified Law 13-28-7.1 for which the Department of Education, based on recommendations from the Department of Health, can require vaccination for school entry in South Dakota.

With the change, school entry requirements for South Dakota 6th grade students include:
  • One dose of Tdap vaccine
  • One does of MCV4
The requirements apply only for 6th grade entry and transfer students in 6th – 12th grade. A child who is 10 years old when entering the 6th grade has 45 days after his or her 11th birthday to be vaccinated. Schools will be required to report immunization data of 6th grade students yearly to the Department of Health just as they currently do with kindergarten students.

Schools may find the following documents from the Department of Health useful in communicating this new requirement with various stakeholders:
  • Message to parents — could be posted on school website, in school newsletters, etc.
  • Flyer — could be posted on school website, sent home with students, etc.
  • Detail document — for individuals/groups needing more detailed information

State Home Page | Disclaimer | Accessibility | Privacy Policy
©2016 S.D. Department of Education, 800 Governors Drive, Pierre, SD 57501 - (605) 773-3134