Ed Online Homepage



Letter from the Secretary


SD Department of Education
May 2017  
  Ed Online Graphic


 
Reminder: 6th grade vaccination requirements

Please remember that the Tdap (Tetanus, Diphtheria, Pertussis) and MCV4 (Meningococcal ACYW) vaccines are required for entry into the 6th grade. Just prior to the end of the school year can be a good time to remind parents of next fall's 6th graders of this requirement.

Schools may find this flyer from the Department of Health useful in communicating this requirement to parents.

In 2016, meningococcal infection was added to the list of diseases specified in South Dakota Codified Law 13-28-7.1 for which the Department of Education, based on recommendations from the Department of Health, can require vaccination for school entry in South Dakota.

With the change, school entry requirements for South Dakota 6th grade students include:

  • One dose of Tdap vaccine
  • One dose of MCV4
The requirements apply only for 6th grade entry and transfer students in 6th – 12th grades. A child who is 10 years old when entering the 6th grade has 45 days after his or her 11th birthday to be vaccinated. Schools are required to report immunization data of 6th grade students yearly to the Department of Health just as they do with kindergarten students.

 
     
 

State Home Page | Disclaimer | Accessibility | Privacy Policy
©2017 S.D. Department of Education, 800 Governors Drive, Pierre, SD 57501 - (605) 773-3134