Media Releases

2019 | 2018 | 2017 | 2016 | 2015 |2014 | 2013 | 2012 | 2011

For Immediate Release: Oct. 20, 2011
Contact: Mary Stadick Smith - (605) 773-7228

Moller selected as 2012 South Dakota Teacher of the Year

Mitchell middle-school math teacher Patrick Moller has been selected as the 2012 South Dakota Teacher of the Year. The announcement was made during a banquet this evening at the Systems Change Conference in Spearfish.

Moller has a master’s in education and educational leadership, and has obtained multiple grants for use in his classroom, including the National Education Association’s Innovation grant, and most recently the Teachers and Technology grant. He was a presenter at this fall’s Midwest Regional Middle Level Conference in Nebraska. Moller also coaches middle-school boys basketball in Mitchell.

“It is clearly evident that Pat is willing to give 110 percent for every single one of his students,” said South Dakota Secretary of Education Melody Schopp. “His enthusiasm for his students and his profession are a shining example.”

A panel of education experts selected Moller from among six regional finalists. The finalists included: Nicole Gardner-Fink, Sioux Falls; Susan Karels, Milbank; Thomas Keck, Rapid City; Darcey Mollman, Faith; and Katey Lee Swank, Todd County.

As South Dakota Teacher of the Year, Moller will receive use of a new car for one year, a technology package valued at more than $14,000 to use in his classroom, cash awards and more. Prize packages are made possible through the generosity of private businesses and organizations.

In addition, Moller will represent South Dakota as a candidate for the National Teacher of the Year award.

The National Teacher of the Year Program began in 1952 and continues as the oldest, most prestigious national honors program focusing public attention on excellence in teaching. The National Teacher of the Year is announced during a Washington, D.C., ceremony each April.