Media Releases

2019 | 2018 | 2017 | 2016 | 2015 |2014 | 2013 | 2012 | 2011

For Immediate Release: Oct. 11, 2012
Contact: Mary Stadick Smith - (605) 773-7228

Anderson selected as 2013 South Dakota Teacher of the Year

East Middle School science and reading teacher Katie Anderson, of Rapid City, has been selected as the 2013 South Dakota Teacher of the Year. The announcement was made during a banquet this evening at the Cedar Shore Resort and Conference Center in Chamberlain.

Anderson recently obtained her master’s of science in curriculum and instruction from Black Hills State University, and during the 2010-11 school year, she was accepted to be a part of the American Physiological Society Frontiers in Education Fellowship.

“Although all of the candidates are deserving of this honor, Katie is constantly going above and beyond to demonstrate her competency and compassion,” said South Dakota Secretary of Education Melody Schopp. “It’s evident that she’s willing to give 110 percent for every single one of her students.”

A panel of educators from across the state selected Anderson from among five regional finalists. In addition to Anderson, other finalists included: Connie Gretschmann, Avon School District; Shelly Loehrer, Milbank School District; Carolyn Spielmann, West Central School District; and Kenneth “Lance” VanderVorst, Herreid School District.

As recipient of the honor, Anderson will receive the use of a new car for one year, a technology package valued at more than $11,000 to use in her classroom, cash awards and more. Prize packages are made possible through the generosity of private businesses and organizations.

In addition, Anderson will represent South Dakota as a candidate for the National Teacher of the Year award. The National Teacher of the Year Program began in 1952 and continues as the oldest, most prestigious national honors program that focuses public attention on excellence in teaching. The new National Teacher of the Year is announced during a special ceremony in Washington, D.C., each April.