Media Releases

2018 | 2017 | 2016 | 2015 |2014 | 2013 | 2012 | 2011

For Immediate Release: June 8, 2007
Contact: Mary Stadick Smith - (605) 773-7228

Career and technical education grant recipients announced

Forty-three schools and educational cooperatives across South Dakota will receive a total of $1.5 million to fund career and technical education initiatives during the 2007-08 school year. (See list below.) The one-year grants will support 60 projects.

“In two years, students will be required to stay in high school until they reach 18. Career and technical education has concrete, real-world applications, and we believe it poses one viable option for students who may otherwise have chosen to drop out,” said Gov. Mike Rounds.

Through career and technical education, students learn about the strong connection between high school, postsecondary education and the workplace.

Grant proposals focused on seven key areas: academic and technical skills, career guidance, entrepreneurial activities, new CTE programs within specific career clusters, partnerships, adding rigor to high school, and distance learning.

“By encouraging distance learning projects within this grant, we should see more CTE courses available statewide via the new Virtual High School,” said Mark Wilson, director of career and technical education for the South Dakota Department of Education.

The South Dakota Legislature appropriated $1.5 million in career and technical education funds earlier this year, which was an increase of $500,000 over last year’s funding. The Department of Education received more than 80 applications requesting $2.8 million to fund initiatives during the 2007-08 school year.



Armour School District

Belle Fourche School District

Brandon Valley School District

Bridgewater School District

Brookings School District

Canton School District

Chamberlain School District

Clark School District

Cornbelt Educational Cooperative

Dakota Valley School District

East Central Multi-District

East Dakota Educational Cooperative

Emery School District

Faulkton Area School District

Hanson School District

Harrisburg School District

Hot Springs School District

Hub Area Multi-District

Lake Area Multi-District

Lennox School District

Leola School District

Madison School District

Meade School District

Mid-Central Educational Cooperative

Miller School District

Mitchell School District

Mitchell Technical Institute/Regional School Districts

Mobridge School District

Northeast South Dakota Tech Prep Consortium

Northern High Tech Consortium

Northwest Area Multi-District

Northwestern Area School District

Pierre School District

Rapid City School District

Sioux Falls School District

Sisseton School District

Tea Area School District

Vermillion School District

Viborg School District

Wall School District

Warner School District

Watertown School District

Yankton School District