Media Releases

2018 | 2017 | 2016 | 2015 |2014 | 2013 | 2012 | 2011

For Immediate Release: April 29, 2008
Contact: Mary Stadick Smith - (605) 773-7228

Governor Rounds appoints members of TCAP Advisory Council

Gov. Mike Rounds today announced the appointment of 14 individuals to the Teacher Compensation Assistance Program Advisory Council. (A complete list of council members appears below.)

“We started the TCAP program two years ago as a first step toward enhancing teacher salaries in South Dakota,” Gov. Rounds said. “At the legislature’s request, this group will take the process a step further by examining teacher salary issues in-depth and making recommendations as to how future state funds can be best used in this arena.”

The TCAP Advisory Council was established by Senate Bill 187 during the 2008 legislature. In addition to the 14 members appointed by the governor, both the Senate and House were required to appoint three members each.

“The members we’ve appointed represent a cross-section of the education world – large schools, small schools, East River, West River, elementary and high school,” said Gov. Rounds. “I am very pleased that these educators and education advocates have agreed to serve on the advisory council.”

An initial meeting of the TCAP Advisory Council has been scheduled for May 28 in Pierre.

Governor-appointed members:

Sharon Andrews, teacher, Sioux Falls

Sherry Crofut, teacher, Rapid City

Joseph Harrison, teacher, Rapid City

Lisa McNeely, teacher, Redfield

Jeff Lukens, teacher, Sioux Falls

Louise Lindskov, teacher, Timber Lake

Joe Graves, superintendent, Mitchell

Lesli Hanson, superintendent, Watertown

Pam Homan, superintendent, Sioux Falls

Dennis Rieckman, superintendent, Wall

Duane Alm, president, Associated School Boards of South Dakota

Dan Guericke, director, Mid-Central Educational Cooperative

Tom Hawley, dean of education, Northern State University

Bryce Healy, executive director, South Dakota Education Association

Senate-appointed members:

Senator Kenneth Albers, Canton

Senator Tom Hansen, Huron

Senator Sandy Jerstad, Sioux Falls

House-appointed members:

Representative Tom Deadrick, Platte

Representative Phyllis Heineman, Sioux Falls

Representative Larry Lucas, Mission