Media Releases

2018 | 2017 | 2016 | 2015 |2014 | 2013 | 2012 | 2011

For Immediate Release: May 5, 2009
Contact: Mary Stadick Smith - (605) 773-7228

More schools to serve fresh fruits, vegetables

The Fresh Fruit and Vegetable Program will expand to include 22 additional South Dakota schools for school year 2009-10. A total of 49 schools will participate in the program in 2009-10, which means more than 10,000 students will have the opportunity to eat fresh fruits and vegetables throughout the school day.

“We are very pleased with the commitment these schools are making to help students develop life-long healthy eating habits,” said Sandra Kangas, director of the South Dakota Department of Education’s Child and Adult Nutrition Services. “Not only have we been able to add schools to the program, but we’ve been able to increase the number of times these healthy snacks are served throughout the day.”

Schools that participate in FFVP receive funds to provide free fresh fruit and vegetables to students throughout the school day. The snack must be served outside of the breakfast or lunch meal. Schools that have at least half of their students eligible for free or reduced-price meals receive priority for funding.

Personnel from the schools will attend a workshop today in Pierre to learn about the administration and operational requirements of the program. Participants will also get ideas for incorporating nutrition education into the program.

The FFVP is administered by the United State’s Department of Agriculture Food and Nutrition Services and South Dakota’s Department of Education – Child and Adult Nutrition Services.

Schools selected to participate through a competitive grant process for 2009-10 are as follows (new schools are indicated by an asterisk):

• American Horse School, Allen (K-8)*

• Bennett County School District: Martin Grade School (PK-6)

• Cheyenne River BIE School, Eagle Butte (K-2)*

• Crazy Horse School, Wanblee (K-8)

• Edmunds Central School District (K-5)*

• Enemy Swim Day School, Waubay (K-8)

• Eureka School District (PK-8)

• Frederick Area School District (K-8)

• Gayville-Volin School District (PK-8)

• Grant-Deuel School District (PK-6)*

• Huron School District: Buchanan Elementary (K-5)* and Jefferson Elementary (K-5)*

• Hot Springs School District (PK-5)*

• Hoven School District (K-6)*

• Iroquois School District (PK-5)*

• Kadoka Area School District: Interior (K-8), Kadoka (PK-8), and Midland (K-8)

• Lemmon School District (K-6)*

• Little Wound School, Kyle (K-8)

• Loneman School, Oglala (K-8)

• Marty Indian School (K-5)*

• Meade School District: Sturgis Elementary (K-5)* and Whitewood Elementary (K-6)*

• Rapid City School District: Canyon Lake Elementary (K-5), General Beadle Elementary (PK-5), Horace Mann Elementary (K-5)*, Knollwood Elementary (K-5)

• Red Cloud Indian School—Our Lady of Lourdes Elementary, Porcupine (K-8) and Red Cloud Indian School, Pine Ridge (K-8)

• Pine Ridge School (K-8)

• St. Joseph Indian School, Chamberlain (K-8)*

• Shannon County School District: Batesland (PK-8), Red Shirt (PK-8), Rockyford (K-8), and Wolf Creek (PK-8)

• Sioux Falls School District: Hawthorne Elementary (K-5)*

• Sisseton School District: Westside Elementary (K-5)

• Smee School District (PK-8)

• South Dakota Children’s Home Society (PK-7)

• Summit School District (PK-6)

• Takini School, Howes (K-8)*

• Tripp Delmont School District (PK-5)*

• Todd County School District: North Elementary (K-3)*

• Wagner Community School District (1-4)

• White Lake School District (K-6)

• White River School District: Norris Elementary (K-6)* and White River Elementary (PK-5)*

• Yankton School District: Webster Elementary (PK-5)*