Media Releases

2018 | 2017 | 2016 | 2015 |2014 | 2013 | 2012 | 2011

For Immediate Release: May 27, 2010
Contact: Mary Stadick Smith - (605) 773-7228

Students awarded Hagen-Harvey scholarships

Seven Native American students have been chosen to receive Richard Hagen-Minerva Harvey Memorial Scholarships for the 2010-11 school year. The students will use the scholarships to pursue their education at an institute of higher education in South Dakota.

“These young people and their families should be very proud,” said Gov. Mike Rounds. “We are pleased that they have chosen to continue their schooling in South Dakota, and our hope is that they stay here once they’ve completed their postsecondary education.”

The seven applicants selected to receive scholarships are: 

--Zachary Boyd, Rapid City

--Brian Drapeaux, Pierre

--Levi Lange, Black Hawk

--Kayla Prasek, Watertown

--Thad Rose, Eagle Butte

--Tyler Tordsen, Rapid City

--Jacklyn Willard, Chamberlain

Hagen-Harvey scholarships are awarded to recent high school graduates who are enrolled members of any American Indian tribe. Recipients are selected on the basis of grade-point average, ACT score, leadership potential and other indicators of the drive for success.

Scholarship winners must attend institutes of higher education in South Dakota. The scholarships range from $1,000 for a single year to as much as $6,000 over four years for incoming freshmen.

The scholarship program was established in 2003 after Minerva Harvey left the proceeds of her estate to the South Dakota Department of Education to develop a scholarship program for Native American students. The late-Richard Hagen was a Native American legislator from Pine Ridge who served in both the state House of Representatives and state Senate.