Media Releases

2018 | 2017 | 2016 | 2015 |2014 | 2013 | 2012 | 2011

For Immediate Release: March 28, 2011
Contact: Mary Stadick Smith - (605) 773-7228

21 libraries to offer audio, electronic books for download

Library patrons in 21 South Dakota communities will soon be able to download audio and electronic books, or e-books, from their home computers, courtesy of their public libraries.

The new collaborative, “South Dakota Titles to Go,” was formed as a result of negotiations managed by the State Library. The participating libraries provide the funding for the downloadables, supplied by OverDrive. OverDrive is a digital distributor of e-books, audiobooks, music and video.

Downloadable titles are available in a variety of popular genres, including bestsellers, fiction, romance, suspense, children’s and young adult, business, self-help and language learning. Downloadable audiobooks and e-books may be checked out, placed on the patron’s computer, burned to a CD or transferred to a portable device such as a Nook. They are automatically returned when due. Music and video formats may be added later.

“South Dakota’s public libraries are key community resources for the digital age, and through the Titles to Go program, local libraries across the state will be able to make even more digital resources available to their users,” said State Librarian Dan Siebersma. “By pooling resources, participating libraries are able to provide these new resources at no cost to their patrons.”

The new service is in the trial stages now and is expected to be available by the end of March.

Participating libraries are:

• Alexander Mitchell Library (Aberdeen)

• Beresford Public Library

• Brookings Public Library

• Canton Public Library

• Cozard Memorial Library (Chamberlain)

• Dell Rapids Carnegie Public Library

• Dorothee Pike Memorial Library (Lake Preston)

• Edgemont Public Library

• Freeman Public Library

• Grace Balloch Memorial Library (Spearfish)

• Huron Public Library

• Madison Public Library

• North Sioux City

• Northwest Regional Library (Buffalo)

• Potter County Library (Gettysburg)

• RE Rawlins Municipal Library (Pierre)

• Sisseton Memorial Library

• Sully Area Library (Onida)

• Sturgis Public Library

• Watertown Regional Library

• Yankton Community Library

Other public libraries can still join the collaborative effort. Contact the State Library at 800-423-6665 for details.