Media Releases

2018 | 2017 | 2016 | 2015 |2014 | 2013 | 2012 | 2011

For Immediate Release: June 7, 2011
Contact: Mary Stadick Smith - (605) 773-7228

Students awarded Hagen-Harvey scholarships

Seven Native American students have been chosen to receive Richard Hagen-Minerva Harvey Memorial Scholarships for the 2011-12 school year.

The students will use the scholarships to pursue their education at an institute of higher education in South Dakota.

“This award is a great honor. I am excited to see these students continuing their education at postsecondary institutions within South Dakota,” Gov. Dennis Daugaard said. “Their families should be very proud.”

The seven applicants selected to receive scholarships are:

• Araya Cournoyer, Lake Andes

• Katelyn Hump, Faith

• Matilyn Kerr, Highmore

• Alyssa Lothrop, Canton

• Dakota Marshall, Watertown

• Lindsey Montileaux, Tea

• Clayton Reinhard, Fort Pierre

Hagen-Harvey scholarships are awarded to recent high school graduates who are enrolled members of any American Indian tribe. Recipients are selected on the basis of grade-point average, ACT score, leadership potential and other indicators of the drive for success.

Scholarship winners must attend institutes of higher education in South Dakota. The scholarships range from $1,000 for a single year to as much as $6,000 over four years for incoming freshmen.

The scholarship program was established in 2003 after Minerva Harvey left the proceeds of her estate to the South Dakota Department of Education to develop a scholarship program for Native American students. The late Richard Hagen was a Native American legislator from Pine Ridge who served in both the state House of Representatives and state Senate.