Media Releases

2018 | 2017 | 2016 | 2015 |2014 | 2013 | 2012 | 2011

For Immediate Release: May 25, 2012
Contact: Mary Stadick Smith - (605) 773-7228

Grant expands to include new after-school programs

Three new 21st Century Community Learning Center grants will be awarded this year in South Dakota and six other grants will be renewed, Gov. Dennis Daugaard announced today.

The federal grants, ranging from $50,000 to $150,000 a year, are administered by the state Department of Education to fund academic enrichment opportunities for students. The community learning centers are intended to assist students from high-poverty and low-performing schools that need additional support.

While some of the funds go to schools, the grants must specifically support programs offered outside of school hours. Projects are funded for a period of five years, based upon successful implementation and annual reviews.

“These programs play an important role in meeting the needs of children and parents in these communities,” said Gov.Daugaard. “I commend all of these agencies for their commitment to providing quality after-school programs.”

The new recipients this year include:

• Mobridge-Pollock School District

• YMCA of Rapid City, Valley View Elementary and Rapid Valley Elementary

• Washington Pavilion, Sioux Falls

Those programs with renewed funding include:

• Lutheran Social Services of South Dakota and Hilltop Methodist, Sioux Falls

• Belle Fourche School District

• Boys and Girls Club of the Missouri River, Wagner and Marty

• Smee School District

• YMCA of Rapid City, Downtown Teen Center

• Black Hills Special Services, Rapid City Academies

The 21st Century Community Learning Centers provide a range of high-quality services that support student learning and development. Academic enrichment, tutoring, mentoring, homework help, music, arts, sports and cultural activities are key requirements of the grants. The learning centers also offer literacy and other educational services to families of participating children.

The program is authorized under Title IV, Part B, of the Elementary and Secondary Education Act, as amended by the No Child Left Behind Act of 2001.