Media Releases

2018 | 2017 | 2016 | 2015 |2014 | 2013 | 2012 | 2011

For Immediate Release: Feb. 15, 2013
Contact: Mary Stadick Smith - (605) 773-7228

Board of Education members reappointed

Gov. Dennis Daugaard has reappointed three members whose terms were expiring on the South Dakota Board of Education.

Kelly Duncan of Vermillion, Stacy Phelps of Rapid City and Julie Mathiesen of Sturgis were reappointed to the nine-member board for another four years. The other six board members’ terms expire in alternating years.

Duncan has been a member of the board since November 1996, and served as its president from 2007 to 2011. She is a faculty member at the University of South Dakota.

Phelps was first appointed to the board by former Gov. Mike Rounds in 2008. Phelps is recognized for his work in developing solutions to increase the success rate of students graduating from high school and continuing onto postsecondary opportunities.

Mathiesen is the newest member of the board, having been initially appointed in February 2011. She is the director of Technology and Innovation in Education, which is based in Rapid City.

The other state Board of Education members are President Don Kirkegaard of Sturgis, Vice President Patricia Simmons of Sioux Falls, Glenna Fouberg of Aberdeen, Dick Gowen of Rapid City, Marilyn Hoyt of Huron, and Terry Sabers of Mitchell. The board’s next meeting will be March 25 in Pierre.