Jan. 16, 2013



News Archive
Printable Version
Share a Story Idea


Nominate the next National History Teacher of the Year

Nominations for the Gilder Lehrman National History Teacher of the Year award must be made by Feb. 1.

The top winner of the award, given by the Gilder Lehrman Institute of American History, receives a cash prize of $10,000. State winners are awarded $1,000, and their school receives an archive of books and other resources to use in the classroom. In addition, each winner is honored during a ceremony in his or her home state.

The National History Teacher of the Year is chosen from outstanding teachers of American history in each state, the District of Columbia, U.S. territories, and Department of Defense schools. Nominations for the National History Teacher of the Year can be made by any student, parent, colleague or school administrator familiar with the teacherís work.

Elementary school teachers (K-6) and middle and high school teachers (7-12) are recognized separately, in alternate years. In 2013, elementary teachers (K-6) will be honored.

To learn more about the award or to nominate a teacher, visit gilderlehrman.org/nhtoy or contact state coordinator Sam Shaw at the South Dakota Department of Education.

Back to Headlines