Zebra Homepage

PD Events

DOE Blog

DOE Homepage
SD Department of Education August 2014  

Teacher shortage areas designated for 2014-15

The U.S. Department of Education has designated the following areas as teacher shortage areas for the 2014-15 school term.

Academic Disciplines:
Career & Technical Education (7-12)
English as a New Language (K-12)
Language Arts (7-12)
Mathematics (7-12)
Science (7-12)
Special Education (K-12)
World Languages (K-12)

Geographic Areas:
Bennett County
Cheyenne Indian Reservation
Corson County
Crow Creek Indian Reservation
Jackson County
Lower Brule Indian Reservation
Mellette County
Roberts County
Shannon County
Todd County

This federal designation of teacher shortage areas may qualify borrowers for deferment or forgiveness of outstanding Federal Family Education Loans, Federal Stafford Loans or Federal Perkins Loans. Qualification depends on the type of loan and the date issued.

These designations may also enable grant recipients to fulfill their teaching obligation under the Teacher Education Assistance for College and Higher Education (TEACH) Grant Program.

Individuals teaching in one of the designated areas can contact the lender holding their loans to determine whether the loans qualify for deferment or forgiveness. The Federal Student Aid Hotline at 1-800-4FED-AID is also available to answer questions.

State Home Page | Disclaimer | Accessibility | Privacy Policy
© 2014 S.D. Department of Education, 800 Governors Drive, Pierre, SD 57501 - (605) 773-3134