Zebra Homepage

DOE Blog

SD Department of Education
Aug. 2017  

  2017-18 teacher shortage areas announced

Each year, the U.S. Department of Education designates teacher shortage areas. This federal designation may qualify borrowers for deferment or forgiveness of outstanding Federal Family Education Loans, Federal Stafford Loans or Federal Perkins Loans. Qualification depends on the type of loan and the date issued.

These designations may also enable grant recipients to fulfill their teaching obligation under the Teacher Education Assistance for College and Higher Education (TEACH) Grant Program.

Individuals teaching in one of the designated areas can contact the lender holding their loans to determine whether the loans qualify for deferment or forgiveness. The Federal Student Aid Hotline at 1-800-4FED-AID is also available to answer questions.

School principals are delegated authority to provide certification that eligible borrowers are teaching in a designated teacher shortage area.

Statewide Academic Disciplines or Subject Matter:
Career and Technical Education
English Language Learners
Fine Arts
Language Arts
Physical Education/Health
Social Science
Special Education (Non-Core)
World Languages

Geographic Areas:
Bennett County
Cheyenne River Reservation
Corson County
Crow Creek Reservation
Jackson County
Lower Brule Reservation
Mellette County
Roberts County
Oglala Lakota County
Todd County

State Home Page | Disclaimer | Accessibility | Privacy Policy
© 2017 S.D. Department of Education, 800 Governors Drive, Pierre, SD 57501 - (605) 773-3134