

925 East Sioux Avenue, Pierre, SD 57501 • (605) 280-4331

FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE: Wednesday, July 1, 2020

CONTACT: Nick Wendell, South Dakota Board of Technical Education, 605-280-4331, nick.wendell@state.sd.us

Technical Colleges Change Names and Launch New Branding Efforts

PIERRE, S.D. – South Dakota's technical education system is in the midst of a major transformation. During the 2020 Legislative Session, HB 1083 passed, changing the names of our state's technical institutes to technical colleges. As of today, the bill becomes a law and the name changes become official.

The name change legislation will not change the mission of the institutions. Lake Area Technical College (Watertown), Mitchell Technical College (Mitchell), Southeast Technical College (Sioux Falls), and Western Dakota Technical College (Rapid City) will continue focusing on workforce development and granting two-year Associate of Applied Science degrees and other technical credentials.

"The change better aligns our technical college system with the overwhelming majority of other states across the country," said Nick Wendell, Executive Director of the South Dakota Board of Technical Education. "Our peer institutions, offering high-quality technical education, are typically known as technical colleges."

The four colleges have been busy preparing their new logos and identity materials. The new names will be featured on signage, marketing materials, and documents on and around the four campuses.

"South Dakota is home to one of the very best technical education systems in the nation," said Board Chairman Dana Dykhouse. "This name change reaffirms for students and families that the four technical schools in our state offer a high-quality college education that leads to high-paying careers."