



T: 605.773.3134 F: 605.773.6139 www.doe.sd.gov

FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE: Thursday, May 27, 2021

CONTACT: Mary Stadick Smith, South Dakota Department of Education, 605-773-7228,

mary.stadicksmith@state.sd.us or

Ruth Raveling, South Dakota Department of Education, 605-773-2593, ruth.raveling@state.sd.us

State Library recognizes 21st Century School Libraries

PIERRE, S.D. – The South Dakota State Library has announced the 2021 recipients of the 21st Century School Library Award. The 21st Century School Library Award recognizes school libraries as Effective, Enhanced or Exemplary, based on performance in three areas: place (which refers to the learning environment, both physical and online), programming and the professional.

Applicants conduct a self-assessment and provide evidence of their ability to meet South Dakota's guidelines for school libraries. Award status is valid for a three-year period.

School library	Award status	Librarian	Administrator(s)
Belle Fourche Middle School Library	Exemplary	Karen Schlekeway	Kevin Smidt
Brookings High School Library	Exemplary	Jean Kirschenman	Paul vonFischer
Explorer Elementary School Library (Harrisburg)	Enhanced	Amy DeNomme	Douglas Eppard
Flandreau Middle/High School Library	Exemplary	Lori Williams	Brian Relf, Nichole Herzog
Freedom Elementary School Library (Harrisburg)	Enhanced	Tyler Muth	Tanja Pederson
Huron High School Library	Enhanced	Rachel Kary	Mike Radke, Linda Pietz
Lincoln High School Library (Sioux Falls)	Exemplary	Mary Peters	Dr. Laura Raeder
Patrick Henry Middle School Library (Sioux Falls)	Exemplary	Wendy Nelson	Kim Sharping
Roosevelt High School Library (Sioux Falls)	Exemplary	Michelle Clayberg	Tim Hazlett
Spearfish High School Library	Exemplary	Emily Benvenga	Steve Morford
T.F. Riggs High School Library (Pierre)	Exemplary	Pamela Kringel	Kevin Mutchelknaus
Washington High School Library (Sioux Falls)	Exemplary	Kerri Smith	Kari Papke
Watertown High School Library	Exemplary	Kris O'Brien	Brad Brandsrud

Find more information on the State Library's 21st Century School Library Award webpage.