



T: 605.773.3134 F: 605.773.6139 www.doe.sd.gov

FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE: Wednesday, Aug. 10, 2022

CONTACT: Mary Stadick Smith, South Dakota Department of Education, 605-773-7228, or Ruth Raveling, South Dakota Department of Education, 605-773-2593

Seven students receive Hagen-Harvey scholarships

PIERRE, S.D. – Seven students have received Richard Hagen-Minerva Harvey Memorial State scholarships. This scholarship program provides up to \$6,000 over four years for study at a public or non-public accredited university, college, or technical college located in South Dakota to enrolled members of American Indian tribes.

The scholarship program is funded by the estate of Minerva Harvey, in memory of Richard Hagen, who was a state legislator from Pine Ridge.

Congratulations to the following scholarship recipients for the 2022-23 school year:

• Year One

- o Hunter Bailey, Bridgewater
- William Kuhl, Buffalo Gap
- Chye Livermont, Interior
- Dylan Marshall, White River
- o Cheyenne Miller, Harrisburg

• Year Two

- Nicholas Curd, Lake Preston
- Kelsey Morrison, White River

Scholarship amounts are based on a student's current year in school (years one and two: \$1,000/year; year three: \$1,500; year four: \$2,500).

Find more information about this program on the South Dakota Department of Education's <u>Richard Hagen-Minerva Harvey Scholarship webpage</u>.