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Underage GED® Testing Waiver 
Alternative Instruction (Home School) Students 

This form is required for any 16- or 17-year-old student who has been excused from public school attendance for alternative instruction (home school) pursuant to SDCL 13-27-3. Before the request for underage testing can be approved, the South Dakota Department of Education (SD DOE) must verify receipt of a public school exemption certificate from the school district pursuant to SDCL 13-27-9.

Student Name: ___________________________________________________________

District Name: ____________________________________________________________

By signing below, you are agreeing and verifying that:

	(1)	The student named above is 16 or 17 years old;
	(2)	The student has been excused from public school attendance for alternative instruction 			(home school);
	(3)	You consent to the SD DOE disclosing the following information to the SD Department of 			Labor and Regulation:  whether the SD DOE has received a public school exemption 			certificate from the school district regarding the student; and
	(4)	You are the parent or legal guardian of the student and authorize the student to take the 			GED® test. 

Parent/Legal Guardian Name (please print): ______________________________________________

Address: __________________________________________________________________________

City: _____________________________________________ State: _____________ Zip: __________

Telephone: ________________________________ Email: ___________________________________________

Parent/Legal Guardian Signature: ______________________________________________________ 

Date:________________________

Submit completed form to:
	
Email
	
Fax
	
Mail

	Barb.unruh@state.sd.us
	605-773-6184
	Barb Unruh
Department of Labor and Regulation
700 Governors Drive
Pierre, SD 57501


For South Dakota Department of Education use only

· SD DOE has received an alternative instruction exemption certificate for the student named above.

· SD DOE has not received an alternative instruction exemption certificate for the student named above.

	__________________________________________	________________________	
	Signature & Title					Date
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Underage GED® Testing Waiver 
For students other than Alternative Instruction (Home School) Students

This form is required for any 16- or 17-year-old student wishing to take the GED® test who has not been excused from public school attendance for alternative instruction (home school).  An official referenced in SDCL 13-27-1 must attest to the fact that the student meets the criteria in that statute in order for the student to take the test. 

Student Name: ___________________________________________________________

Parent/guardian 
I verify that the child named above is 16 or 17 years old, and I as parent or guardian of this child give permission for the child to take the GED® test.


______________________________________________________________	      _________________________
Signature								      Date
- - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - 

Authorizing Institution/District

Please check all that apply:

· The undersigned school administrator verifies that the child will not graduate with the child's cohort class because of credit deficiency;
· The undersigned court services officer authorizes the child to take the GED test;
· The undersigned official verifies that a court order has been received requiring the child to enter the GED program and is enclosing a copy of the court order;
· The undersigned official verifies that the child is under the direction of the Department of Corrections; or
· The undersigned official verifies that the child is enrolled in Job Corps as authorized by Title I-C of the Workforce Investment Act of 1998, as amended to January 1, 2009.

I verify the student named above is eligible to take the GED® test for the reason(s) marked above. 


	Name (printed)

	Title

	Signature

	Date



Reminder: The student must be withdrawn from high school at the time of testing and re-enrolled as necessary until the entire test is complete.

Submit completed form to:
	
Email
	
Fax
	
Mail

	Barb.unruh@state.sd.us
	605-773-6184
	Barb Unruh
Department of Labor and Regulation
700 Governors Drive
Pierre, SD 57501
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