Ed Online Homepage

SD Department of Education
Nov. 2020  
  Ed Online Graphic

Nominations open for Presidential Cybersecurity Education Award

Nominations are open until Jan. 31, 2021, for the second annual Presidential Cybersecurity Education Award, which honors two K-12 educators for excellence in cybersecurity education.

Congratulations to Eagle Butte Superintendent Kara Four Bear, who received this honor last year when she was the principal at New Town Middle School in New Town, N.D.!

As principal of New Town Middle School, Four Bear spearheaded the adoption of North Dakota cybersecurity education initiatives that teach digital literacy and safety skills to students of all ages. Under her leadership, educators at New Town Middle School made real-world connections to cybersecurity in the classroom so that students at this Title I school could learn about career paths in this field. She expanded opportunities for students to explore cybersecurity beyond the classroom through the Valley City State University Summer Academy and participation in the University of North Dakota NASA Near Space Project.

The award is presented annually to one elementary educator and one secondary educator who instill in their students skills, knowledge, and passion for cybersecurity.

Award recipients will embody the expertise and dedication of educators who are critical to strengthening the nation's cybersecurity workforce. A nominee need not work in cybersecurity education exclusively; any educator whose subject matter includes cybersecurity is welcome to apply. Recipients of this honor will receive acknowledgement by the President of the United States and the U.S. Secretary of Education, public recognition as a leader in the field of cybersecurity education, as well as professional development opportunities.

Established on May 2, 2019, by President Donald J. Trump's Executive Order on America's Cybersecurity Workforce, this award was created by the U.S. Department of Education in consultation with the Deputy Assistant to the President for Homeland Security and Counterterrorism at the National Security Council, as well as the National Science Foundation.

Educators from all 50 states, the District of Columbia, Puerto Rico, all U.S. territories, Department of Defense Education Activity (DoDEA) schools, and Tribal areas are eligible to apply or be nominated. Anyone may nominate an educator for this honor, including parents, students, fellow educators, and community members. Self-nominations are permitted. For the rules, terms and conditions, and specifics on how to apply, please visit here. Please visit the Department of Education's STEM webpage for more information, and please send all questions about this award to cyberawards@ed.gov. Information on the Executive Order is available here.


State Home Page | Disclaimer | Accessibility | Privacy Policy
©2020 S.D. Department of Education, 800 Governors Drive, Pierre, SD 57501 - (605) 773-3134