Zebra Homepage

DOE Blog

SD Department of Education
March 2020  

  Math and science teachers honored at annual conference

The South Dakota Science Teachers Association and South Dakota Council of Teachers of Mathematics recently held their 28th annual joint conference, the SD STEM Ed Conference. Congratulations to the outstanding educators who received special recognition at this event!

Presidential Award for Excellence in Math & Science Teaching finalists (l to r): Mark Kreie (Brookings School District), Tiffany Kroeger (Montrose School District), Denise Clemens (Northwestern Area School District), Molly Ring (Brandon Valley School District), not pictured: Carla Diede (Harrisburg School District)

Michelle Bartels (Hamlin School District) received the South Dakota Science Teachers Association Distinguished Service Award. At the conclusion of the conference, she became president of SDSTA. She is pictured with outgoing president Mark Iverson (Watertown School District).

Kelly Lane Earth and Space Science grants and Daniel Swets Robotics Materials awards (l to r): Michael Putnam (Brandon Valley School District), Julie Olson (Mitchell School District), Tomi Jean Kusser (Hanson School District)

Daktronics Outstanding Mathematics Teacher Award: Jennifer Ashley, Vermillion School District (left) with Crystal McMachen, Rapid City Area School District

Kelly Lane Earth and Space Science Grants

  • Spencer Cody, Edmunds Central School District
    • Project: Blastoff: SD STEM to the Stars Design Challenge and Field Experience
  • Julie Olson, Mitchell School District
    • Project: Music: The Universe-al Language
  • Michael Putnam, Brandon Valley School District
    • Project: STEM Friday

Daniel Swets Robotics Materials Awards

  • Barbara Duchini, Little Wound School System
  • Luke Erfman, Meade School District
  • Ryan Gimbel, Timber Lake School District
  • Aminah Hassoun, SDSU Extension
  • Tomi Jean Kusser, Hanson School District
  • Janver Stucky, CORETECH Robotics Club, Freeman

SDSTA Friend of Science Award: Black Hills Raptor Center
SDCTM Distinguished Service Award: Jay Berglund, Gettysburg School District
SDCTM Friend of Mathematics Award: Sharon Vestal, South Dakota State University

State Home Page | Disclaimer | Accessibility | Privacy Policy
© 2020 S.D. Department of Education, 800 Governors Drive, Pierre, SD 57501 - (605) 773-3134