Zebra Homepage

DOE Blog

SD Department of Education
May 2020  

TEACHER FEATURE: Congratulations to District and Regional Teachers of the Year!

Districts were invited to submit the names of their Teachers of the Year to the South Dakota Department of Education. Those teachers could then apply for Regional Teacher of the Year, one of whom will be named State Teacher of the Year in the fall. Congratulations to all District and Regional Teachers of the Year!

  • Region #1: Lisa Weier, Project Lead the Way, George S. Mickelson Middle School (Brookings)
  • Region #2: Marissa Whipple, second grade, Baltic Elementary
  • Region #3: Amanda Hargreaves, sixth grade, Mitchell Middle School
  • Region #4: Spencer Cody, science, Edmunds Central Middle and High School
  • Region #5: Luke Erfman, computer/STEAM, rural schools, Meade School District
A statewide panel of educators will select one of these regional finalists to represent the state as the 2021 South Dakota Teacher of the Year. The 2021 South Dakota Teacher of the Year will be announced sometime this fall. That individual will be South Dakota’s candidate for the National Teacher of the Year Award.

District Teachers of the Year
District Teacher
Aberdeen Sara Weischedel
Agar-Blunt-Onida Susie Rilling
Avon Connie Gretschmann
Baltic Marissa Whipple
Belle Fourche Julie Erskin
Bon Homme Ashley Armstrong
Brandon Valley Michael Zerr
Britton-Hecla Beth Renner
Brookings Lisa Weier
Canistota Crystall Becker
Canton Alexis Burwitz
Chamberlain Kari Toupal
Chester Area Laura Biagi
Clark Heather Fuhrmann
Corsica-Stickney Mike Tuschen
Custer Karen Karim
De Smet Jennifer Hojer
Deuel Karan Domina
Doland Katy Lyren
Edmunds Central Spencer Cody
Elkton Georgianna Jensen
Florence Sarah Spiering
Frederick Area Caitlin Podoll
Garretson Matt Schrank
Harrisburg Tamra Huffman
Henry Deanna Martens
Herreid Julie Graczyk
Lead-Deadwood Shannon Mollman
Lennox Lisa Muhs
Leola Nancy Kindelspire
Lyman Nikki Collins
Madison Central Kindra Wiese
Meade Luke Erfman
Milbank Beth Wagner
Mitchell Amanda Hargreaves
Mobridge-Pollock Ladonna Mielke
Parker Mindee Birnstiehl
Pierre Tom Rogers
Plankinton Michelle Karst
Rapid City Area Jamie Amundsen
Sanborn Central Jill Reimer
Sioux Falls Janelle Revier
Sioux Valley Don Sutera
Spearfish Chris Blain
Tea Area Janice Gilbert
Timber Lake Theresa Keller
Tri-Valley Jennifer Even
Vermillion Kelly Stone
Wall Ronda Edgar
Watertown Karen Johnson
Webster Area Ashley Hanson
Wessington Springs Julie Bruckner
West Central Nicole Harmon
Willow Lake Lindsey Tellinghuisen
Wolsey-Wessington Jackie Fauth
Yankton Beth Anderson

State Home Page | Disclaimer | Accessibility | Privacy Policy
© 2020 S.D. Department of Education, 800 Governors Drive, Pierre, SD 57501 - (605) 773-3134