Zebra Homepage

DOE Blog
SD Department of Education Nov. 2016  

  State Library recognizes 21st Century School Libraries

Recipients of the 21st Century School Library Award for 2016 were honored at the Systems Change Conference in October. Twelve school libraries received the award, which recognizes school libraries as Effective, Enhanced or Exemplary, based on performance in three areas: place, which refers to the learning environment (both physical and online), programming and the professional.

Applicants conduct a self-assessment and provide evidence of their ability to meet South Dakota's guidelines for school libraries. Award status is valid for a three-year period.

Congratulations to these schools and librarians!

School library Award status Librarian Administrator
Central High School (Aberdeen) Exemplary Lucy Wang Jason Uttermark
Flandreau Middle/High School Exemplary Lori Williams Ross Rollinger
Gettysburg K-12 Exemplary Mary Quiett Wendy Smith
Harrisburg High School Exemplary Sheleen Bauer Kevin Lein
Lennox Jr. High/High School Enhanced Michael Larson Chad Allison
Sturgis Brown High School (Meade) Enhanced Scottie Bruch Pete Wilson
Sturgis Williams Middle School (Meade) Enhanced Scottie Bruch Ann Nonnast
Georgia Morse Middle School (Pierre) Enhanced Renae Lehman Kyley Cumbow
St. Thomas More Middle School (Rapid City Catholic School System) Exemplary Jenelle Kirchoff Keiz Shultz
Edison Middle School (Sioux Falls) Exemplary Kjerstin Smith Steve Griffith
Creekside Elementary School (Spearfish) Enhanced Dianne Hemminger Daniel Olson
Watertown High School Exemplary Jean Moulton Michael Butts
State Home Page | Disclaimer | Accessibility | Privacy Policy
© 2016 S.D. Department of Education, 800 Governors Drive, Pierre, SD 57501 - (605) 773-3134