Zebra Homepage

DOE Blog

SD Department of Education
Oct. 2019  

  State Library recognizes 21st Century School Libraries

Library Video Thirteen school libraries have received the 21st Century School Library Award for 2019. The 21st Century School Library Award recognizes school libraries as Effective, Enhanced, or Exemplary, based on performance in three areas: place, which refers to the learning environment (both physical and online), programming, and the professional.

Applicants conduct a self-assessment and provide evidence of their ability to meet South Dakota's guidelines for school libraries. Award status is valid for a three-year period.

School library Award status Librarian Administrator(s)
Aberdeen Central High School Exemplary Mikayla Arechigo Dr. Jason Uttermark
Alcester-Hudson Elementary Exemplary Nola Conner Tim Rhead
Alcester-Hudson Jr./High School Exemplary Nola Conner LeeAnn Haisch
Creekside Elementary (Spearfish) Exemplary Sheleen Bauer Dan Olson
Dakota Valley Upper Elementary, Middle School and High School Enhanced Erin Nilges Harlan Halverson, Erik Sommervold, Dr. Jerry Rasmussen
Georgia Morse Middle School (Pierre) Exemplary Renae Lehman Dr. Kyley Cumbow, Brandon Lowery
Harrisburg High School Exemplary Eve Langerock Ryan Rollinger
Lennox Jr./High School Enhanced Michael Larson Chad Allison
R.F. Pettigrew Elementary (Sioux Falls) Enhanced Nicole Ulvestad Kevin Dick
Sonia Sotomayor Elementary (Sioux Falls) Enhanced Jenni Egstad Tracy Vik
Stagebarn Middle School (Piedmont) Exemplary Scottie Bruch Dave Olson
Sturgis Brown High School Enhanced Scottie Bruch Pete Wilson
Sturgis Williams Middle School Exemplary Scottie Bruch Chad Hedderman

Find more information on the State Library’s 21st Century School Library Award webpage.

State Home Page | Disclaimer | Accessibility | Privacy Policy
© 2019 S.D. Department of Education, 800 Governors Drive, Pierre, SD 57501 - (605) 773-3134