Next Meeting

South Dakota Board of Education

Board Policy
Mission Statement
2016 Meeting Schedule
Meeting Archive
Rules Archive
Vocational Education Fund Statements

Notice of public hearing-standards
South Dakota CTE Standards (includes links for public comment)

Board Members:

Donald KirkegaardDonald A. Kirkegaard - President
Sturgis, SD

Donald Kirkegaard was appointed to the Board of Education December 2006. Kirkegaard has worked in K-12 education for 30 plus years and is currently superintendent of the Meade School District. He is a member of the School Administrators of South Dakota. Kirkegaard has been involved with the North Central Association at the local, state and national level. He received his B.S. Degree from South Dakota State University (SDSU), Brookings, and his M.S. Degree from Northern State University, Aberdeen. He continued his education at the University of South Dakota (USD), Vermillion, where he received an Educational Specialist Degree. His term expires Dec. 31, 2018.

Patricia SimmonsPatricia Simmons - Vice President
Sioux Falls, SD

Patricia Simmons was appointed to the South Dakota Board of Education Oct. 6, 2006. She recently completed 14 years serving on the Brandon Valley Board of Education. On that board, she served two years as vice president and seven years as president. During that time, Ms. Simmons also served on the board of directors for the Associated School Boards of South Dakota. She served five years on ASBSD's executive committee and was president of the association from 2002 to 2003. Ms. Simmons participated on the Accountability Advisory Panel in 2002-2003 and regional 2010 Education Initiative discussions held by the Department of Education in 2004. She is an alumnus of Western Iowa Tech Community College and Dakota Wesleyan University. She is a registered nurse and has worked for 24 years in pediatric hematology/oncology. She has volunteered for many organizations: the Leukemia/Lymphoma Society, Brandon Valley Girls Softball Association, Brandon Valley Booster Club, church Sunday school teacher, and was a member of the East Dakota Coop in Sioux Falls. Her term expires Dec. 31, 2015.

Kelly DuncanKelly Duncan
Aberdeen, SD

Kelly Duncan, Aberdeen, was appointed to the Board of Education in November 1996. An alumnus of the University of South Dakota, Dr. Duncan received a bachelor's degree in Business Education in 1983, a master's degree in counseling in 1988, and a Ph.D. in Counselor Education in 2003. Dr. Duncan currently serves as the Dean of the Northern State University School of Education. Her K-12 teaching includes working as a secondary business instructor then as a K-12 school counselor. Dr. Duncan was an associate professor of counseling at The University of South Dakota and the director of the USD Counseling and Psychological Services Clinic at the University of South Dakota from 2006-15.

A lifelong South Dakotan, Duncan has been an active member of the American and SD Counseling Associations and the SD School Counselor Association and has been honored for her leadership roles in these organizations. She is a member of the JAG State Advisory Board. Dr. Duncan served as president of the board from 2007 to 2011. Her term expires in Dec. 31, 2016.

Glenna FoubergGlenna N. Fouberg
Aberdeen, SD

Glenna Fouberg, Aberdeen, was appointed to the Board of Education in January 1998. Ms. Fouberg received her B.S. in secondary education from Northern State University in 1963, followed by her masters in education, specializing in guidance and counseling, from SDSU in 1968. Ms. Fouberg retired in 2002 after working in education for 37 years, teaching English for 25 years and directing an Alternative Learning Center for 12 years. Currently, she serves as the chief examiner for GED testing in Aberdeen, is co-chair of the Junior Achievement program in Aberdeen, and is doing some consulting work. Ms. Fouberg was named South Dakota Teacher of the Year in 1994. Her term expires Dec. 31, 2017.

no photo availableScott Herman
Mission, SD

His term expires in Dec. 31, 2016.

Marilyn HoytMarilyn Hoyt
Huron, SD

Marilyn Hoyt, Huron, was appointed to the Board of Education in April 1995. Currently, Hoyt is an officer of the Huron College/University Foundation. She also serves on several non-profit boards in the Huron community and chairs the Mayor’s Task Force to expand the convention and event facilities in Huron and manages several real estate properties. Previously, she served on the Huron College/University Board of Trustees for several years and was Chairman during the institution’s transition from a church-related college to a private sector college. Ms. Hoyt was instrumental in developing the international student program at the college and served as the International Student Advisor for over a decade. In the past, she also served on the Board of Directors of the Farmers & Merchants Bank. Hoyt earned her B.S .in Business Administration from USD. Her term expires in Dec. 31, 2017.

Julie MathiesenJulie Mathiesen
Sturgis, SD

Julie Mathiesen, Sturgis, was appointed to the Board of Education in February, 2011. Julie serves as the Director of Technology and Innovation in Education (TIE), a regional professional development organization based in Rapid City, SD. She assumed leadership at TIE in 2008 following three years of progressively responsible work as an Education Specialist at TIE. Mathiesen began her educational career in the Meade School district where she spent 8 years as a high school science and art teacher. She has also worked as a summer educator in the Upward Bound program and as an adjunct faculty member at the college level. In 2003, Mathiesen was awarded a Bush Foundation Leadership Fellowship. While on the fellowship she studied at Pepperdine University in the Educational Technology doctoral program and later received her Ed.D from this institution. Her term will expire Dec. 31, 2016.

Terry SabersTerry Sabers
Mitchell, SD

Terry Sabers is a lifelong resident of South Dakota, growing up in rural Salem and a resident of Mitchell for the last 42 years. Using the knowledge gained as a graduate of the Accounting Program at the Mitchell Technical Institute (MTI) in 1975 he has been an important factor in growing what was a 10 employee electrical contractor into a company that is 360 employees. He is currently Co-President of Muth Electric based in Mitchell and with offices across SD.

Terry has been an active member of local and statewide organizations, especially involving Technical Education. He is an active member of the MTI Foundation Board of Directors. He was involved in the Mitchell Catholic School system as a board member currently serves on the Mitchell Foundation for Catholic Education. His term will expire Dec. 31, 2015.

Deb ShephardDeb Shephard
Watertown, SD

Shephard retired in June 2014 after serving as the president of Lake Area Technical Institute since 2006. She had been employed in various capacities at LATI since 1978, including instructor, counselor, registrar and vice president. She is currently serving as the interim executive director of the Skilled Workforce Advisory Council for the South Dakota technical institutes, along with consulting and adjunct teaching. Deb has a Bachelor of Science degree from the University of South Dakota and a master's in education from South Dakota State University. Her master's specialized in counseling, guidance and personnel services. Shephard is also a member of the Watertown Rotary Club, Watertown Chamber Government Affairs Committee and the Community U Planning Committee. Her term will expire Dec. 31, 2018.