Oceti Sakowin Essential Understandings and Standards Process

The South Dakota Standards revision process and timeline is adopted by the State Board of Education for review of standards in all contents. This review process allows stakeholders to review current standards and make adjustments to the standards on a 5-7 year rotation. Review teams consist of representatives from k-12, special education, post-secondary, administration, instructional coach/curriculum director, parents or business and industry.

Oceti Sakowin Essential Understandings and Standards and Supporting Documents
Proposed Standards Submit Public Comments
Meeting Notes
Meeting 1 June 13 and 14 Agenda Presentation Meeting Notes
Meeting 2 June 27 and 28 Agenda Presentation Meeting Notes
OSEU Proposed Standards

Oceti Sakowin Work Group Members
Joyce Blaas Oglala Lakota School District
Stephanie Charging Eagle Cheyenne River Tribal Education Agency
Angela Debner Smee School District
Nancy J Decker Watertown School District
Victor Douville
Lois Fallis Crow Creek Tribal School
Gladys Hawk
Duane Hollow Horn Bear
Michael Kane Newell School District
Valerie Knauer Douglas School District
Loretta (Lori) Kokes Wagner Middle School (5th/6th grade)
Julie Lakota Marty Indian School
Dorothy /Dottie LeBeau Retired
Jeannine Metzger Oglala Lakota County Schools
Cortney Mistelski Rapid City Area Schools- General Beadle
Michelle Nelin-Maruani RCAS
Olivia Olson McLaughlin District 15-2
Rhonda Pearcy Rapid City School District - Wilson Elementary 4th grade
Christian Pirlet Aberdeen Public School District
Jeannette Schroeder Rapid City Area Schools
Beth Schumacher Crow Creek Tribal Schools
Gabrielle Seeley Rapid City Area Schools
Deanna Stands Wagner Community School
LeeVi Story Newell School District
Carolyn Tail Oglala Lakota County Schools 65-1
Lydia Whirlwind Soldier Retired