South Dakota State Personnel Development Grant (SPDG)

SPDG Project Goal:

Develop a systematic, cohesive, collaborative, and sustainable evidence-based literacy model for struggling readers, especially students with specific learning disabilities, grades K-5. This system must use data driven decision making to ensure interventions and instruction are appropriate and effective. The use of evidence-based literacy strategies and strategies that support family engagement are also required pieces of this grant. Schools will be using the Multi-tiered System of Supports (MTSS) framework as well as instructional coaches to ensure fidelity and sustainability of the grant’s elements over time.



SD SPDG Schools:

  • Rapid City, Knollwood Elementary
  • Rapid City, South Park Elementary
  • Rapid City, South Canyon Elementary
  • Rapid City, Rapid Valley Elementary
  • Rapid City, Valley View Elementary
  • Rapid City, Black Hawk Elementary
  • Rapid City, Grandview Elementary
  • Rapid City, Meadowbrook Elementary
  • Watertown, Jefferson Elementary
  • Watertown, Lincoln Elementary
  • Watertown, McKinley Elementary
  • Watertown, Mellette Elementary
  • Watertown, Roosevelt Elementary
  • Hot Springs Elementary
  • Sisseton Westside Elementary
  • Milbank Koch Elementary
  • Iroquois Elementary



Materials for April Launch Training
April Launch full ppt
Action Plan
MTSS PPT Materials
Literacy PPT Teacher Materials
June Homework
Coaching PPT Coaching Calendar
Coaching Responsibilities
Coaching Homework
Family Engagement PPT Materials
Data-Driven Decision Making PPT Manual of Evaluation Tools
Final R-TFI Elementary-Level


Materials for June Launch
MTSS
Literacy
Coaching SPDG Instructional Literacy Coach Responsibilities Summer 2018-19 SPDG Coaching Calendar
Family Engagement
Data-Driven Decision Making



General Information
SPDG Overview
State Leadership roles”



Contacts

MTSS/RTI Contacts:
Rebecca Cain, SPDG Co-Director, Rebecca.Cain@state.sd.us
Pat Bruinsma, MTSS/RTI, Pat.Bruinsma@k12.sd.us
Stephanie Weideman, MTSS/RTI, sweideman@outlook.com

Literacy Contacts:
Teresa Berndt, SPDG Co-director, Teresa.Berndt@state.sd.us
Brandi Gerry, Coaching Coordinator, Brandi.Gerry@teachwell.org
Katie Anderson, Dakota State University Literacy Partner, Katie.Anderson@dsu.edu

Coaching Contacts
Teresa Berndt, SPDG Co-director, Teresa.Berndt@state.sd.us
Brandi Gerry, Coaching Coordinator, Brandi.Gerry@teachwell.org

Family Engagement
Dawn Smith, DOE Family Engagement/Title Program Specialist, DawnL.Smith@state.sd.us
Carla Miller, Executive Director, SD Parent Connection, cmiller@sdparent.org

Data Contacts
Pat Bruinsma, MTSS/RTI/Data Workbook Trainer, Pat.Bruinsma@k12.sd.us
Brandi Gerry, Coaching Coordinator/Data Support, Brandi.Gerry@teachwell.org