NCATE Partnership

Application for Approval of New/Amended/ Deleted Ed Program

South Dakota currently holds a partnership with the National Council for Accreditation of Teacher Education (NCATE). NCATE founded in 1954, replaced AACTE as the agency responsible for accreditation in teacher education. As mentioned on the NCATE site, five groups were instrumental in the creation of NCATE: the American Association of Colleges for Teacher Education (AACTE), the National Association of State Directors of Teacher Education and Certification (NASDTEC), the National Education Association (NEA), the Council of Chief State School Officers (CCSSO), and the National School Boards Association (NSBA).

“NCATE is the teaching profession’s mechanism to help establish high quality teacher, specialist, and administrator preparation. Through the process of professional accreditation of schools, colleges and departments of education, NCATE works to make a difference in the quality of teaching, teachers, school specialists and administrators. NCATE believes every student deserves a caring, competent, and highly qualified teacher.” – NCATE Mission Statement

South Dakota/NCATE Partnership

South Dakota’s State Partnership Agreement was submitted to NCATE on March 15, 2006. The process of submitting a partnership with NCATE is filled with negotiations and revisions. Please continue to check this website for any new information regarding the solidification of this partnership.

As a part of the NCATE Partnership Agreement submission, South Dakota submitted a narrative explaining processes and protocols for the review of teacher education programs at several South Dakota colleges and universities. The narrative as well as accompanying documents explaining the process to fulfill NCATE reporting requirements can be downloaded and viewed.

The South Dakota state protocol is viewable on the NCATE site on the “State Protocols” page. Currently, the teacher education programs in seven institutions of higher education are reviewed and approved in seven-year cycles by both the State Department of Education and NCATE. Those institutions and their next scheduled joint State/NCATE review include:

Institution Next Scheduled Review
  University of Sioux Falls in Sioux Falls   Spring 2009
  Dakota State University in Madison   Spring 2009
  Black Hills State University in Spearfish   Spring 2011
  South Dakota State University in Brookings   Fall 2012
  University of South Dakota in Vermillion   Spring 2013
  Augustana College in Sioux Falls   Fall 2013
  Northern State University in Aberdeen   Spring 2014

Useful Links
Administrative Rules
National Council for Accreditation of Teacher Education


For any questions contact Steve Fiechtner at 605-773-4774.