South Dakota Milken Educators Award

The Milken Family Foundation is a leader in the efforts to advance teacher quality. Since its inception in 1982, the Foundation has demonstrated its commitment to improving the quality of American education by working to elevate the standing of educators across the country. Teaching must be transformed into a profession that provides greater opportunities for advancement. It must once again be deemed an honorable vocation that is recognized, respected, and compensated for its true value.

Through the Milken Educator Awards program, the Foundation calls public attention to the incredible contributions of great educators. It recognizes, loudly and clearly, that teachers have the power to change lives. By their presence and example, these educators set standards that build confidence in students so that they can achieve their highest goals. They inspire colleagues with their creativity and skill, and engage entire communities in the education of their children.

The Milken Educator Awards program supports and strengthens these accomplished women and men as they deploy their talents to overcome the many challenges faced by American education. At the local, state, and national levels, Milken Educators share their experience and insight, working with policymakers and leaders from business and academia to strengthen education. Their expertise and energy help propel action toward effective solutions.

Milken Educators
2017 - Carla Diede
2016 - Amanda Christensen 2015 - Gina Benz
2014 - LeeAnna Rabine 2013 - Shana Davis
2012 - Alayna Siemonsma 2011 - Nicole Keegan
2010 - Wade Helleson 2009 - Kira Christensen
2008 - Cary Roller
2007 - Sherry Crofut
2006 -Connie Rous
2005 - Robert Cook
2004 - Marletta Eich
2004 - Darrell Mueller
2003 - Sherri Becker 2003 - Chad Caldwell
2002 - R. Jon Frey 2002 - Kari Jungclaus
2002 -Karen Lukens


Kelly Royer, Department of Education, 605-773-8415