Teacher Education Programs

Approved SD Programs

The Teacher Education Program assures that K-12 educators are well prepared and qualified to serve South Dakota schools. Rules adopted by the South Dakota Board of Education establish standards that educators must meet to be recommended for certification; the rules also provide the standards for postsecondary institutions' teacher preparation programs.

Any institution seeking to recommend candidates for certification must have its programs approved by the State Board of Education. The Department of Education reviews the courses and experiences an institution requires candidates to complete and recommends approval to the state board on a seven-year cycle. In addition, the institutions must also be accredited by a regional accrediting agency or by the National Council for Accreditation of Teacher Education (NCATE).

State Accreditation Unit Review

State Accreditation Unit and Program Review Booklet
State Accreditation Self-Study Report
EPPs seeking CAEP Accreditation should use CAEP instructions for the self-study

A unit review looks at the education program’s commitment to overall preparation of teacher candidates. This could include the unit’s teacher education program admission, mission, conceptual framework, assessment system, and field experience policies and procedures.

Institutions that seek NCATE accreditation have a review team selected by NCATE’s Board of Examiners, in addition to a State Board of Examiners team selected jointly by the institution and the Department of Education. At an onsite visit, the NCATE Board of Examiners uses NCATE and State standards to review the teacher education unit with the assistance of the State Board of Examiners.

Non-NCATE institutions are visited by a State Board of Examiners team only and are reviewed according solely to South Dakota Administrative Rule.

Members of the State team may include:
- practitioners and administrators from elementary and secondary schools,
- faculty from higher education and appropriate Department of Education representatives,
- observers from the South Dakota Education Association, Associated School Boards of South Dakota, School Administrators of South Dakota, the South Dakota Board of Education and the South Dakota Board of Regents.

Team members must validate the accuracy of the institutional self-study by examining documents and conducting interviews. This validation process helps determine if each standard is Met or Not Met.

Program Review

The institution’s teacher preparation programs are reviewed prior to the onsite visit by a team of trained program reviewers. The reviewers may include:

- practitioners and administrators from elementary and secondary schools; and,
- faculty from higher education and appropriate Department of Education representatives

Although the program reviewers do not join the Board of Examiners team at the onsite visit, the reviewers may request the members of the State Board of Examiners team investigate any outstanding concerns that the reviewer may have noted from their initial program review.

Program Review Templates
7-12 Agriculture K-12 Art (NAEA)
K-12 Art (NASAD) Birth-Preschool
Early Child 7-12 Business
7-12 Marketing 7-12 Career and Technical
K-12 Curriculum Director 7-12 Drama/Theater
SPED K-8 Elementary
SPED Blended 7-12 Family/ Consumer Sciences
K-12 World Language K-12 Health
K-12 PE K-12 South Dakota Indian Studies
7-12 Industrial Technology 7-12 English/Language Arts
7-12 Mass Comm/Journalism 7-12 Speech/Debate
7-12 Math Com Math/Science
K-12 Music Education PK-12, PK-8, or 7-12 Principals
K-12 Reading Specialists PK-12 School Library Media
School Psychologists Counselor
7-12 Science Education 7-12 Social Studies Education
PK-12 Career Superintendents K-12 Computer Science

Teacher Education Programs
 Augustana University
 Laurie Daily, Education Department Chair, 605-274-5211
 Dr. Sharon Andrews, Certification Official, 605-274-4627
 Black Hills State University
  Dr. Sharman Siebenthal Adams, Dean, 605-642-6551
 Micheline Nelson, Certification Official, 605-642-6077
 April Meeker, Records Official, 605-642-6567
 Dakota State University
 Dr. Kristine Harms, Certification Official, 605-256-7331
 Crystal Pauli, Certification Official, 605-256-7331
 Kathy Callies., Registrar, 605-256-5144
 Certification Official, 605-256-5177
 Dakota Wesleyan University
 Ashley Digman, Education Department Chair, 605-995-2199
  Michelle Hellman , Certification Official, 605-995-2127
  Karen Knoell, Records Official, 605-995-2647
 Mount Marty College
 Sister Candyce Chrystal, 605-668-1506
 Northern State University
 Dr. Elvira Sanatullova-Allison, Dean, School of Education, 605-626-2415
  Carol Knecht and Andrea Prehn, Office of Field Experiences and Teacher Certification Officers, 605-626-2415
Peggy Hallstrom, NSU Registrar and Certification Officer, 605-626-7767
 Oglala Lakota College
 Shannon Amiotte, Education Department Chair/ Certification Officer, 605-455-6014
 Cindy Iron Cloud, Registrar's Office, 605-455-6032
 Sinte Gleska University
 Cheryl Medearis, Education Department Chair, 605-856-8117
 Jack Herman, Records Official, 605-856-8100 Ext. 8476
 Sisseton Wahpeton College
  Jeanette Gravdahl, V.P of Academic Affairs, 605-642-1117, ext: 1122
 South Dakota State University
 Dr. Jill Thorngren, Dean, College of Education, 605-688-6181
 Teresa Telkamp, Certification Official, 605-688-5039
 University of Sioux Falls
Julie McAreavey, Associate VP for Continuing & Professional Studies, 605-331-6644
Dr. Michelle Hanson, Chair, Fredrikson School of Education, 605-331-6714
Registrar, 605-331-6732
 University of South Dakota
Donald Easton-Brooks, Dean, 605-677-5437
Sherri Bosse, Certification Official, 605-677-5698


For any questions contact Kathy Riedy at 605-773-4774. Click here for the Administrative Rules.