ELA Standards

The standards for English Language Arts & Literacy in History/Social Studies, Science, and Technical Subjects (“the Standards”) are the culmination of an extended, broad-based effort to fulfill the charge issued by the states to create the next generation of K–12 standards in order to help ensure that all students are college and career ready in literacy no later than the end of high school.

ELA and Literacy Standards
ELA and Literacy Standards Intro
K-5 6-12
Literacy in Other Content Areas Dissagregation Standards and ELA Blueprints

K – all RI RL RF W SL L
1st - all RI RL RF W SL L
2nd - all RI RL RF W SL L
3rd - all RI RL RF W SL L
4th - all RI RL RF W SL L
5th - all RI RL RF W SL L
6th - all RI RL   W SL L
7th - all RI RL   W SL L
8th - all RI RL   W SL L
9-10th - all RI RL   W SL L
11-12th - all RI RL   W SL L

Supporting Documents
Appendix A Appendix A Supplement
Appendix C CCSSO Map
Grade 12 Blueprint Tri-State Rubric K-2
Tri-State Rubric 3-12 K-2 ELA Publishers Criteria
3-5 ELA Publishers Criteria ELA Standards Checklist

Assessment Resources
Achievement Level Descriptors
SBAC Stimulus Specifications
Style Guide


For more information, contact Becky Nelson at the Department of Education's Division of Curriculum, Career and Technical Education at (605) 773-4681.