MSAA Alternate Assessment

The National Center and State Collaborative (NCSC) is a project led by five centers and 24 states (13 core states and 11 Tier II states) to build an alternate assessment based on alternate achievement standards (AA-AAS) for students with the most significant cognitive disabilities. The goal of the NCSC project is to ensure that students with the most significant cognitive disabilities achieve increasingly higher academic outcomes and leave high school ready for post-secondary options.

NCSC Web Based Resources
     • Curriculum Resources - What to Teach
     • Instructional Resources - How to Teach
     • Classroom Solutions –Ideas shared by other educators
NCSC Home Page
NCSC Resources Page
     • Resources for Parents
     • Highlighted Presentations
     • Highlighted Documents
     • Dissemination Materials
MSAA Documents
MSAA Dashboard
Alt Assessment Worksheet Documentation of Evidence Worksheet
Accessing MSAA Student Report Enrollment Template
MSAA ORG ID List Medical Exemption Form
MSAA Participation Guidelines MSAA Parent Letter
Test Administration Manual Test Security Agreement
Users Form
NCSC Assessment Recordings
Common Core Standards for All
Live Meeting Playback

Useful Links
Alternate Assessment List Serv


If you have questions, please contact the Special Education Office at the South Dakota Department of Education at (605) 773-3678.