Director of Assessment & Accountability talks about proposed changes to South Dakota’s accountability system.

Improving user experience

The Department of Education will be updating its website, Please take this short survey to help us improve the user experience for you.

Sign up to receive this newsletter!

Your email:


Loan deferment or forgiveness possible in teacher shortage areas

The U.S. Department of Education has designated teacher shortage areas for the 2013-14 school year. This federal designation of teacher shortage areas may qualify borrowers for deferment or forgiveness of outstanding Federal Family Education Loans, Federal Stafford Loans, or Federal Perkins Loans. Qualification depends on loan type and date of issue.

These designations may also enable grant recipients to fulfill their teaching obligation under the Teacher Education Assistance for College and Higher Education (TEACH) Grant Program.

Individuals teaching in one of the designated areas can contact the lender holding their loans to determine whether the loans qualify for deferment or forgiveness. Call the Federal Student Aid Hotline at 1-800-4FED-AID with any questions.

Principals have the authority to provide certification that eligible borrowers are teaching in a designated teacher shortage area.

Teacher shortage areas:

Academic Disciplines:
   • Career & Technical Education (7-12)
   • English as a New Language (K-12)
   • Language Arts (7-12)
   • Mathematics (7-12)
   • Science (7-12)
   • Special Education (K-12)
   • Speech Pathologists
   • World Languages (K-12)

Geographic Areas:
   • Bennett County
   • Cheyenne River Indian Reservation
   • Corson County
   • Crow Creek Indian Reservation
   • Jackson County
   • Lower Brule Indian Reservation
   • Mellette County
   • Shannon County
   • Todd County