Media Releases

2019 | 2018 | 2017 | 2016 | 2015 |2014 | 2013 | 2012 | 2011

For Immediate Release: Oct. 30, 2006
Contact: Mary Stadick Smith - (605) 773-7228

Wessington Springs educator named state's Teacher of the Year

Charlotte Mohling, a family and consumer sciences teacher in Wessington Springs, has been named South Dakota’s Teacher of the Year for 2007. Gov. Mike Rounds made the announcement tonight at the annual Teacher Leadership Conference, hosted by the South Dakota Department of Education.

“Charlotte Mohling represents the best of the state’s teachers,” said Gov. Rounds. “She is an inspiration to her students and a mentor to fellow educators. She gives widely of her time and talents, not only to her students, but also to her colleagues and her community.”

South Dakota’s Teacher of the Year is chosen for his or her exceptional skills and dedication, an ability to inspire students, and playing an active role in the school and community.

Mohling has taught for 31 years in the Wessington Springs School District, where she encourages students to become self-motivated, inquisitive and responsible learners. Mohling has been an active promoter of technology in the classroom. She has taught distance career and technical education courses and believes firmly that students should have access to a variety of quality programs that will challenge their abilities.

The 2007 South Dakota Teacher of the Year is recognized as a leader among her peers. Mohling has conducted several workshops relating to curriculum design, teaching strategies, and integrating technology for effective teaching for fellow professionals. She also serves as a mentor to new teachers in her district.

Mohling has helped to develop state standards for family and consumer sciences. She is a cooperating teacher and visiting lecturer for South Dakota State University’s student teaching program. And, she recently served on a committee that developed standards for South Dakota’s new personal finance requirement for high school graduation.

South Dakota’s Teacher of the Year is selected from among seven regional finalists. In addition to Mohling, those finalists included:

Joyce Carlson, Brookings School District

Vanya Munce, Huron School District

Jacey Peters, Parker School District

Callie Rech, Isabel School District

Tracy Scott, Agar-Blunt-Onida School District

Nicole Swigart, Rapid City Area School District

As the 2007 South Dakota Teacher of the Year, Mohling will receive the use of a car for one year from Springs Auto Inc. in Wessington Springs; a technology package from the SMARTer Kids Foundation; a $3,000 cash award from the South Dakota Community Foundation; a $3,000 cash award from Citibank; a $1,000 honorarium from the South Dakota Board of Regents; and a gift card from the South Dakota Retailers Association.

Mohling will represent South Dakota in the 2007 National Teacher of the Year competition.