Media Releases

2018 | 2017 | 2016 | 2015 |2014 | 2013 | 2012 | 2011

For Immediate Release: May 16, 2008
Contact: Mary Stadick Smith - (605) 773-7228

Students awarded Hagen-Harvey scholarships

Seven Native American students were recently chosen to receive Richard Hagen-Minerva Harvey Memorial Scholarships for 2008-09. The students will use the scholarships to pursue their education at an institute of higher education located in South Dakota.

“These young people and their families should be very proud,” said Gov. Mike Rounds. “We are pleased that they have chosen to further their education in South Dakota, and our hope is that they will stay here once they have completed their postsecondary education. They are exactly the kind of young people we need to fuel the state’s growth.”

The seven applicants who were selected to receive scholarships are:

-- Francis Waln, Parmelee

-- Albert Her Many Horses, Rosebud

-- Mariah Emery, Mission

-- LaToya Brave Heart, Kyle

-- Kyrie Campbell, Sisseton

-- Alana Stars, Pierre

-- Lindee Lawrence, Eagle Butte

Hagen-Harvey scholarships are awarded to recent high school graduates who are enrolled members of one of South Dakota’s nine tribes. Recipients are selected based on grade point average, ACT score, leadership potential and other indicators of drive for success. Recipients must attend an institute of higher education located in South Dakota. Scholarships range from $1,000 for a single year to as much as $6,000 over four years for an incoming freshman.

The scholarship program was established in 2003, after Minerva Harvey left the proceeds of her estate to the South Dakota Department of Education to develop a scholarship program for Native American students. Richard Hagen was a legislator from Pine Ridge who served in the State House and Senate.