Media Releases

2018 | 2017 | 2016 | 2015 |2014 | 2013 | 2012 | 2011

For Immediate Release: June 19, 2008
Contact: Mary Stadick Smith - (605) 773-7228

Grants to boost curriculum, target technical skills

Thirty-seven schools and educational cooperatives across South Dakota will receive a total of $1.5 million to fund career and technical education initiatives during the 2008-09 school year. (See list below.) The one-year grants will support 50 projects.

“Today’s CTE programs are focused on making high school rigorous and relevant,” said Mark Wilson, director of career and technical education for the South Dakota Department of Education. “They are not your old vocational education courses.”

Projects funded this year include development of a biotechnology course; establishment of hands-on curriculum in science, technology, engineering and math; and development of a pre-apprenticeship program.

The South Dakota Department of Education received more than $3 million in requests for CTE grants. Projects were selected based on their potential impact, sustainability, community need, and degree to which they encourage students to learn about and prepare for postsecondary education.

“With career and technical education, students begin to make the connection between what they’re studying now and what they’ll be doing five years from now,” Wilson said.

Academic and career planning is an important emphasis of the Department of Education’s High School 2025 initiative. High School 2025 provides schools with a framework to help students develop the knowledge and skills necessary to succeed at the postsecondary level and to be competitive in today’s global marketplace. It is part of the Workforce 2025 initiative.

CTE projects funded for 2008-09

Alcester-Hudson School District

Armour School District

Belle Fourche School District

Bridgewater School District

Brookings School District

Canton School District

Deuel School District

East Central Multi-District

East Dakota Educational Cooperative

Emery School District

Gettysburg School District

Hub Area Technical School

Huron School District

Lake Area Multi-District

Lake Area Technical Institute

Lennox School District

Madison Central School District

Meade School District

Mid-Central Educational Cooperative

Mitchell School District

Mitchell Technical Institute

Mobridge School District

Northern Hi-Tech Consortium

Northwest Area Multi-District

Rapid City Area School District

Sioux Falls School District

Tea School District

Todd County School District

Vermillion School District

Viborg School District

Wall School District

Warner School District

Watertown School District

Webster School District

Wilmot School District

Yankton School District