Media Releases

2018 | 2017 | 2016 | 2015 |2014 | 2013 | 2012 | 2011

For Immediate Release: December 4, 2009
Contact: Mary Stadick Smith - (605) 773-7228

Schools recognized for commitment to student health

Three South Dakota schools and one school district have been selected as winners of Governor Rounds’ Healthy School Awards. This year, the honors go to Arlington Elementary School, Eureka Middle School, Colman-Egan High School and Rapid City School District.

“These schools are taking very thoughtful, calculated steps to improve the overall health of their students and school community, and we commend them for their efforts,” said South Dakota Department of Education Secretary Tom Oster during an awards ceremony in Pierre.

The winners were announced at the Healthy Children, Healthy Future State Network meeting earlier today. Oster presented representatives from each school or district with a check for $5,000 and a banner commemorating the awards.

Winning schools are chosen for their efforts in areas such as health education, physical education, family and community involvement, school-based nutrition programs, health services, healthy school environment and counseling services.

Governor Rounds’ Healthy School Award winners are chosen at four levels: elementary school, middle school/junior high, high school and school district. In addition to the winners, this year’s finalists included Colman-Egan Elementary, Beresford High School and the Newell School District. There was no middle school runner-up this year.