Media Releases

2018 | 2017 | 2016 | 2015 |2014 | 2013 | 2012 | 2011

For Immediate Release: April 30, 2010
Contact: Mary Stadick Smith - (605) 773-7228

South Dakotans selected for library scholarship

Fourteen South Dakota librarians will receive funds for continuing education in library sciences thanks to a grant from the Laura Bush Foundation and the Institute of Museum and Library Services.

The grant was made possible through a collaboration among the South Dakota State Library, the Idaho Commission for Libraries, Montana State Library and Wyoming State Library. In the four-state region, 50 scholarships have been awarded to educate librarians and school library media specialists who work in rural communities. The scholarships pay 80 percent of their tuition.

Students will study for either a master’s degree in library science from the University of North Texas distance education program, or a school library media endorsement through distance programs at Black Hills State University, Montana State University or the University of Montana.

The following South Dakota residents will receive tuition assistance to obtain their master’s degrees in library science: · Shawn Behrends, Madison

· Debra Moor, Kadoka

· Joyce Moore, Vermillion

· Sabina Mustic, Sioux Falls

· Robin Schrupp, Milbank

· Becky Tasa, Yankton

· Shari Theroux, Aberdeen

· Melissa Weber, Canistota

The following South Dakota residents will receive tuition assistance in obtaining their K-12 school library media endorsements:

· Emily Blackwelder, Sioux Falls

· Kristi Herting, Watertown

· Angela Ostrander, Faith

· Virginia Sannes, Aberdeen

· Tina Eisenbraun, Rapid City

· DaNann Kistler, Hartford

Following the completion of either program, grant recipients will be required to work at least two years in professional library positions in one of the four states.