Media Releases

2018 | 2017 | 2016 | 2015 |2014 | 2013 | 2012 | 2011

For Immediate Release: May 19, 2010
Contact: Mary Stadick Smith - (605) 773-7228

Two South Dakota students selected to attend national science camp

Theodore Fennema of Avon High School and Jennifer Galvin of Redfield High School have been selected to represent South Dakota at the 2010 National Youth Science Camp. Kimberly Sjurson of Webster is the alternate.

Fennema and Galvin will join delegates from across the country at the all-expense-paid honors program. They will spend June 29-July 23 at Camp Pocahontas in the Monongahela National Forest in the eastern mountains of West Virginia. Delegates will study at the National Radio Astronomy Observatory.

The National Youth Science Camp is hosted and operated each year by the National Youth Science Foundation. The foundation pays for up to two students who are invited to attend from each state.

South Dakota’s delegates to the National Youth Science Camp are selected by the state Department of Education.