Media Releases

2018 | 2017 | 2016 | 2015 |2014 | 2013 | 2012 | 2011

For Immediate Release: Sept. 7, 2006
Contact: Mary Stadick Smith - (605) 773-7228

Grants fund career and technical education programs

Twenty-seven school districts and educational cooperatives have received a total of $1 million to fund career and technical education programs across South Dakota. The grants will support 35 projects in a variety of career areas, including architecture and construction, hospitality and tourism, and agriculture, food and natural resources.

“We are excited to be helping schools to prepare young people by building their academic and technical skills within a career cluster,” said Mark Wilson, director of career and technical education for the South Dakota Department of Education. “Programs like these will build partnerships between the state’s schools and employers to assure that curriculum is appropriate to the business community’s needs and of maximum benefit to students.”

The funded programs focus on building career-related curriculum, developing internships and hands-on professional experiences for students, and promoting entrepreneurship among high school students. Funding will assist in the development of new career and technical education programs, as well as the creation of more rigorous courses within a specific career cluster.

Funds for the career and technical education grants were appropriated by the 2006 Legislature.

Grant recipients include:

Beresford School District

Bridgewater School District

Britton-Hecla School District

East Central Multi-District

East Dakota Educational Cooperative

Elkton School District

Hanson School District

Lake Area Multi-District

Lennox School District

Madison School District

McCook Central School District

Meade School District

Mid Central Cooperative

Milbank School District

Mitchell School District

Mobridge School District

Northern High Tech Consortium

Northwest Area Multi-District

Pierre School District

Rapid City School District

Sioux Falls School District

Tea Area School District

Tri-Valley School District

Vermillion School District

Webster School District

Wilmot School District

Wolsey Wessington School District