January 2014



News Archive
Printable Version
Share a Story Idea


Four South Dakota teachers earn profession’s top honor

Four South Dakota classroom teachers are among the nearly 4,120 elementary and secondary school teachers nationwide to achieve National Board Certification in 2013.

“These teachers should be very proud,” said South Dakota Secretary of Education Dr. Melody Schopp. “National Board Certification is not a process to be taken lightly. It is time-intensive, challenging, and clearly indicates teachers’ deep commitment to their students and to their own professional growth.”

The achievement raises the number of National Board Certified Teachers in South Dakota to 103.

South Dakota’s 2013 recipients include:

• Anne Moege, English Language Arts/Early Adolescence, Mitchell School District

• Rebecca Kline, Mathematics/Early Adolescence, Rapid City Area School District

• Ruth Conway, Mathematics/Adolescence and Young Adulthood, Rapid City Area School District

• Kelly Assman, Exceptional Needs Specialist/Early Childhood through Young Adulthood, Winner School District

In addition, Lori Keleher, Mathematics/Adolescence and Young Adulthood, Huron School District, renewed her National Board Certificate.

National Board Certification is achieved through a rigorous, performance-based, peer-reviewed assessment of a teacher's pedagogical (teaching) skills and content knowledge. The certification process takes one to three years to complete. While licensing standards set the basic requirements to teach in a state, National Board Certified teachers demonstrate advanced teaching knowledge, skills and practices similar to the certifications earned by experts in law and medicine.

To learn more about National Board Certification, call the South Dakota Department of Education at (605) 773-3134 or go to www.doe.sd.gov.

Back to Headlines