Special Education Programs Accountability Process

2018-23 District Accountability Review Schedule
2018-2023 Agency/CSP Accountability Review Schedule

Districts are reviewed every four years. Districts will also be reviewed for the following reasons:

  1. If the district had a complaint or Due Process in the past year.
  2. If the district did not meet state targets on State Performance Plan (SPP).

Districts can request a copy of their last Accountability Report; please contact Special Education Programs office at (605) 773-3678.

District Accountability Process
District Accountability Process (2/25/2019)
District Comprehensive Plan Template
Principal Interview (Sept. 2018)
Internal Review Document Portrait (March 2019)
Internal Review Document Landscape (March 2019)

Districts who will be reviewed in the 2019-2020 school year will have a webinar on February 20, 2019 from 1:00 pm to 2:00 pm CST (noon to 1:00 pm MST).

Click Here to Join Skype Meeting
Join by Phone
Toll number: 8664108397
Conference ID: 6866841083

Agency Accountability Process
Agency Comprehensive Plan Template - (word)
Process of Individual Education Program Development (Video)
Agency Review Form

Agency, who will be reviewed in 2019-2020 school year, will have a webinar on February 13, 2019 from 12:30 to 1:30 p.m. CST (11:30 am to 12:30 pm MST)

Join Skype Meeting
Join by Phone
Toll number: 8664108397
Conference ID: 6866841083

Results Driven Accountability (RDA)
RDA Manual

SD Special Education District Accountability Reports
Aberdeen Ability Building Services- Yankton Agar-Blunt-Onida
Alcester-Hudson Andes Central Arlington
Armour Aspire Avon
Baltic Belle Fourche Bennet County
Beresford Big Stone City Bison
Black Hills Works – Rapid City Black Hills Special Services Cooperative Developmental Program Bon Homme
Bowdle Brandon Valley Bridgewater-Emery
Britton-Hecla Brookings Burke
Canistota Canton Castlewood
Center for Independence – Huron Centerville Chamberlain
Chester Childrens Home Society (Black Hills) Childrens Home Society (RC-SF)
Clark Colman-Egan Colome-Consolidated
Community Connections - Winner Corsica-Stickney Custer
Dakota Milestones-Chamberlain Dakota Valley (North Sioux City) Dakotabilities – Sioux Falls
Dell Rapids DeSmet Deubrook
Deuel Doland Douglas
Eagle Butte ECCO-Madison Edgemont
Edmunds Central Elk Mountain Elk Point Jefferson
Elkton Estelline Ethan
Faith Faulkton Flandreau
Florence Fredrick Area Freeman
Garretson Gayville-Volin Gettysburg
Gregory Groton Area
Haakon Hamlin (Hayti) Hanson
Harding Co (Buffalo) Harrisburg HAS – New Horizons – Watertown
Henry Herreid Highmore-Harrold
Hill City Hitchcock-Tulare Hot Springs
Hoven Howard Huron
Ipswich Irene-Wakonda Iroquois
Jones County (Murdo)
Kadoka Kimball
Lake Preston Langford Area Lead-Deadwood
Lemmon Lennox Leola
LifeQuest – Mitchell LifeScape – Sioux Falls Live Center- Lemmon
Lyman County
Madison Central Marion McCook Central (Salem)
McCrossans McIntosh McLaughlin
Meade Menno Milbank
Miller Mitchell Mobridge-Pollock
Montrose Mt. Vernon
New Underwood Newell Northern Hills Training Center- Spearfish
Northwestern Area (Mellette) Oglala Lakota County School District
Oahe Inc- Pierre Oelrichs Oldham-Ramona
Parker Parkston Pierre
Plankinton Platte-Geddes
Rapid City Redfield Rosholt
Sanborn Central Scotland SD Department of Corrections
SD Human Service Center- Yankton SDSBVI - Aberdeen SE Behavioral
Selby Shannon Co (Batesland) Sioux Falls
Sioux Valley Sisseton Smee (Wakpala)
South Central (Bonesteel) Spearfish Stanley County
Tea Area Timber Lake Todd County
Todd County (Mission) Tripp-Delmont Tri-Valley
Vermillion Viborg - Hurley VOA- West Oaks Sioux Falls
Wagner Wall Warner
Watertown Waubay Waverly
Webster Area Wessington Springs West Central
White Lake White River Willow Lake
Wilmot Winner Wolsey-Wessington
Women's Prison Woonsocket


If you have questions, please contact the Special Education Office at the South Dakota Department of Education at 605-773-3678.