(605) 773-3134      Contact Us

Content Standards:
Social Studies Standards Revision Process

The South Dakota standards revision timeline is adopted by the state Board of Education Standards for the purpose of reviewing standards in all content areas. The review process allows stakeholders to review current standards and make adjustments to the standards on a five- to seven-year year rotation. Review teams consist of representatives from K-12, including teachers and school administrators, and post-secondary, business, and industry.

Social Studies Standards Review and Supporting Documents
Proposed Social Studies Standards Submit Public Comments
Supplemental Document: 2015 Social Studies Content Standards
Workgroup Meetings
Workdays: June 14-18, 2021 - Drifter's Event Center 325 Hustan Ave. Fort Pierre, SD June 14 Notes
June 15 Notes
June 16 Notes
June 17 Notes
June 18 Notes
June 14 Presentation
June 15 Presentation
June 16 Presentation
June 17 Presentation
June 18 Presentation
Workdays: June 21-23, 2021 - Drifter's Event Center 325 Hustan Ave. Fort Pierre, SD June 21 Notes
June 22 Notes
June 23 Notes
June 21 Presentation
June 22 Presentation
June 23 Presentation
Standards Revision and Adoption Timeline
Four Public Hearings
Approved by BOES
Capacity Building
Teach to Standards
Social Studies 2021-2022 Spring 2022 2022-2023 2023-2024 No State Assessment
Social Studies Standards Revision Workgroup Members *
Morgan Larson, Canistota School District Monique Keck, Spearfish School District
Haley Dressler, Rapid City Area Schools Denise Allen, Langford Area School District
Megan Deal, Pierre School District Eric Reynolds, Edgemont School District
Teri Kinsley, Jones County School District Roberta Bizardie, Todd County School District
Melinda Geiszler, Rutland School District Sherri Rawstern, Dacotah Prairie Museum
Ali Tonsfeldt, Fort Sisseton Historic State Park Claire Beck, Kadoka Area School District
Fred Osborn, Office of Indian Education Kirstin Livermont, Rapid City Area Schools
Andrea Stanosheck, Yankton School District Kris Johnson, Sisseton Middle School
Jordan Esmay, Belle Fourche School District Darcy Higbee, Rapid City Area Schools
Paige Wright, Harrisburg School District Betsy Schamber, Dakota State University
Andrew Stewart, Dakota Valley Public School Ladonna Mielke, Mobridge Pollock School District
Madeleine Gonsoir, Aberdeen School District Dr. Sherry Johnson, Sisseton-Wahpeton Oyate
Shaun Nielsen, Rapid City Area Schools Erin McBurney, Watertown Middle School
Carissa VanderLey, Chamberlain High School Sarah Jacobs, SD Agricultural Heritage Museum/South Dakota National History Day
Dr. Stephen Jackson, University of Sioux Falls Judy Rapp, Retired Social Studies Teacher
Kim McCullough, Brookings School District Grant Lolley, Bison Community Schools
Senator Jim Bolin, South Dakota Legislator Kelsey Lovseth, Brookings School District
Carrie Huber, Rapid City Area Schools Cara Phelps, Rapid City Area Schools
Lisa Forcier, Sisseton-Wahpeton Oyate Dr. Joel Johnson, Augustana University
Paul Harens, Retired Teacher Wade Juracek, Colome School District
Rebecca Loutsch, Gayville-Volin School District Justin Palmer, Brookings School District
Michael Nankervis, Cheyenne-Eagle Butte School District Michael Kane, Belle Fourche School District
Beth Ratway, American Institutes for Research, project facilitator Melinda Johnson, SD Department of Education, Social Studies Revision project lead

* Work group members served in an advisory role in preparing the proposed Social Studies standards. The Department of Education is responsible for preparing the standards and submitting them to the Board of Education Standards for final approval.