(605) 773-3134      Contact Us


On Dec. 10, 2015, President Obama signed into law the reauthorization of the Elementary and Secondary Education Act. This reauthorization, known as the Every Student Succeeds Act (ESSA), replaces the previous version of the law enacted in 2002, the No Child Left Behind Act. States will be in a period of transition until all provisions of the ESSA take effect.

The ESSA requires all states to have a plan for education that addresses major federal requirements. South Dakota’s state plan was developed over the course of more than a year, with input from stakeholders across the state, including educators, parents, students, legislators, tribal representatives, representatives of higher education and others. The U.S. Department of Education approved South Dakota’s state plan on Jan. 16, 2018. The information on this page relates to the development of that state plan.

ESSA Work Groups

The ESSA requires a State Plan, which will outline the state’s strategies for implementing key requirements of the new law, including accountability and school improvement. Four work groups were critical in formulating this plan: Accountability Work Group, School Improvement Work Group, Educator Effectiveness Work Group, and an English Language Learner Work Group. The work groups started convening in April 2016 and worked through early 2017.

Learn about implementation of South Dakota’s state plan on our Every Student Succeeds Act (ESSA) Implementation webpage.

  • Sign up for our ESSA listserv to receive news and updates regarding ESSA implementation.

For more information, contact the Division of Educational Services and Support at (605) 773-6400.